Rahal leads St. Petersburg afternoon warmup

Leave a comment

ST. PETERSBURG – Graham Rahal has broken the Team Penske stranglehold on the top of the leaderboard for at least one session in the Verizon IndyCar Series’ season-opening weekend, the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

The driver of the No. 15 Mi-Jack RLL Honda clocked in a 1:01.4648 to lead the timesheets.

Sebastien Bourdais, Josef Newgarden, Will Power and Simona de Silvestro completed the top five.

Newgarden and de Silvestro had the first coming together of the season, with Newgarden requiring a new front wing assembly and de Silvestro needed a new rear wing. Both returned and set their fastest times later in the session.

Here are the warmup times. The grid is linked here.


Final Rolex 24 results by class

Leave a comment

For the third time in four years, Wayne Taylor Racing is victorious in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona.

Kamui Kobayashi drove the team’s No. 10 Cadillac for the race’s final three hours, and won by more than a minute over the No. 77 Mazda of Oliver Jarvis. Loic Duvall finished third in the No. 5 Mustang Sampling Cadillac.

Joining Kobayashi in victory lane were co-drivers, Regner van der Zande, Scott Dixon and Ryan Briscoe.

Here’s a look at some of the winners in the other classes:


The No. 81 Dragonspeed ORECA crossed the finish line first in the five-car LMP2 class, with Ben Hanley winning by two laps over the second-place Mathiasen Motorsports entry driven by Gabriel Abury. Nic Minassian finished third in the No. 18 Era Motorsport entry.

Dragonspeed’s winning team also included co-drivers Colin Braun, Harrison Newey and Henrik Hedman.


For the second consecutive year, BMW RLL took the GLTM class honors, as Jesse Krohn took the checkered flag in the team’s No. 24 BMW M8 GTE. Krohn was joined by co-drivers John Edwards, Augusto Farfus and Chaz Mostert.

Porsche Teammates Earl Bamber and Nick Tandy finished second and third, respectfully.


The Andrea Caldarelli took the class honors in the No. 48 Lamborghini Huracan GT3 of Paul Miller Racing, finishing ahead of Marco Mapelli and Mirko Bortolotti.

Caldarelli’s co-drivers included Bryan Sellers, Corey Lewis and Madison Snow.

Click here for full race results by class

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter