Despite rough NOLA results, Penske trio still holds top three IndyCar points positions

Leave a comment

AVONDALE, La. – It’s never too early to look at the Verizon IndyCar Series points standings and after the water-logged, caution-filled, Indy Grand Prix of Louisiana, here’s a look at the standings coming out of New Orleans.

Team Penske’s trio of Juan Pablo Montoya, Helio Castroneves and Will Power still lead the standings.

Here’s the standings as they are through Round 2:

1. 2-Juan Pablo Montoya, 84
2. 3-Helio Castroneves, 74
3. 1-Will Power, 70
4. 5-James Hinchcliffe, 65
5. 10-Tony Kanaan, 63
6. 25-Simona de Silvestro, 44
7. 7-James Jakes, 43
8. 15-Graham Rahal, 43
9. 20-Luca Filippi, 42
10. 22-Simon Pagenaud, 41
11. 67-Josef Newgarden, 40
12. 28-Ryan Hunter-Reay, 37
13. 27-Marco Andretti, 37
14. 11-Sebastien Bourdais, 37
15. 9-Scott Dixon, 34
16. 26-Carlos Munoz, 34
17. 41-Jack Hawksworth, 31
18. 98-Gabby Chaves, 28
19. 14-Takuma Sato, 25
20. 83-Charlie Kimball, 25
21. 4-Stefano Coletti, 23
22. 8-Sage Karam, 23
23. 18-Carlos Huertas, 20
24. 19-Francesco Dracone, 14

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.