Supercross: Ryan Dungey, Cooper Webb clinch championships in Houston


A testament to how dominant they’ve been this season, Ryan Dungey locked up the Monster Energy Supercross 450 Class championship with three races left, while Cooper Webb clinched the 250SX West title with one race remaining in the region.

For Dungey, it’s his second career 450SX championship. Needing to finish third or better Saturday night at NRG Stadium in Houston to secure the title, he rode to a second-place finish. Always lauded for his consistency, Dungey extended his streak to 13 consecutive podium finishes this season. (His only finish outside the top three was a fourth-place result at the season opener.)

After the race, Red Bull KTM announced that they had resigned Dungey to a two-year extension, keeping him with the team through 2017.

Dungey’s title cast a shadow over a big night for Cole Seely. A rookie in the 450SX Class this year, Seely has continuously improved throughout the season, and in Houston he finally broke through for his first career win in the premier class. After grabbing the lead on the opening lap of the main event, the American Honda rider never looked back en route to claiming the checkered flag, winning by more than seven seconds over Dungey. In the process, he jumped up to third overall in points.

In the 250SX Class, Houston marked a return for the West Region riders after a layoff of about two months. With four wins in six races entering the night, Cooper Webb promptly picked up right where he left off – working his through the field for another victory.

It was a strong night for Shane McElrath, who grabbed the early lead and led the first nine laps of the main event before being overtaken by Webb. McElrath held on to finish second, with Malcolm Stewart rounding out the podium.

Monster Energy Supercross resumes next Saturday at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

Houston 450SX Results
1. Cole Seely
2. Ryan Dungey (-7.4 seconds)
3. Eli Tomac
4. Josh Grant
5. Chad Reed

450SX Point Standings (after 14 of 17 races)
1. Ryan Dungey, 318
2. Eli Tomac, 236
3. Cole Seely, 223
4. Trey Canard, 204
5. Chad Reed, 199

Houston 250SX Results
1. Cooper Webb
2. Shane McElrath (-2.4 seconds)
3. Malcolm Stewart
4. Aaron Plessinger
5. Alex Martin

250SX West Point Standings (after 7 of 8 races)
1. Cooper Webb, 161
2. Zach Osborne, 116
3. Shane McElrath, 108
4. Jessy Nelson, 106
5. Tyler Bowers, 105