Jack Harvey wins last second pole for Indy Lights race in Long Beach

1 Comment

Four-time IndyLights winner Jack Harvey claimed his first pole of the 2015 season on his final lap in the final minute of qualifying for Sunday’s Grand Prix of Long Beach presented by Allied Building Products (3 p.m. ET, NBCSN).

The Schmidt Peterson / Curb-Agajanian driver took the top spot from Juncos Racing’s Spencer Pigot with a time of 1:12.0405. Harvey also won the pole last year.

Pigot was second, only a fraction behind at 1:12.1156. Kyle Kaiser (1:12.1573), Ed Jones (1:12.1651) and Felix Serralles (1:12.4725) completed the top five..

Harvey finished second to Jones in both races at the St. Petersburg season opener.

“We’ve been pretty bold with the mechanical setup of the car,” Harvey told MotorSportsTalk. “If we had had a third race in St. Pete, we’d probably have finished second again. There was nothing more we could have done on that weekend.”

Pigot, in his rookie Indy Lights season, started fifth in both St. Petersburg races before filling out the podium in third place each time.

“We’ve improved the car overall,” Pigot said. “A lot better balance throughout the whole corner. Tricky track. It’s very challenging but it’s a lot of fun. We’ve moved forward compared to a couple weeks ago. I started fifth there, if I can make the same kind of start here we can grab the lead and try to get a win.”

Sunday’s race start at 8:45 a.m PT/11:45 a.m. ET.

1. Jack Harvey – 1:12.0405
2. Spencer Pigot – 1:12.1156
3. Kyle Kaiser – 1:12.1573
4. Ed Jones – 1:12.1651
5. Felix Serralles – 1:12.4725
6. RC Enerson – 1:12.4984
7. Scott Anderson – 1:12.8934
8. Juan Piedrahita – 1:13.4040
9. Matthew Brabham – 1:13.4802
10. Max Chilton – 1:13.6334
11. Ethan Ringel – 1:13.6876
12. Shelby Blackstock – 1:14.9394