Starting grid for the 2015 Bahrain Grand Prix

Leave a comment

Lewis Hamilton will start today’s Bahrain Grand Prix from pole position after producing yet another scintillating display in qualifying on Saturday, but remains wary of the threat posed by Ferrari ahead of today’s race.

The defending Formula 1 world champion posted a fastest lap time of 1:32.571 in the final stage of qualifying to secure pole in Bahrain for the first time, four-tenths of a second clear of Sebastian Vettel in the Ferrari.

Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg was forced to settle for third place on the grid, admitting after the session that he failed to get into the correct rhythm during Q2 and was unable to hook up a quick lap when it mattered.

Kimi Raikkonen rounded out the top four in the sister Ferrari, whilst Williams finished P5 and P6 with Valtteri Bottas finishing ahead of Felipe Massa.

Ferrari’s race pace during FP2 on Friday suggested that it could pose a serious challenge to Mercedes on Sunday, and with Vettel and Raikkonen getting amongst the Silver Arrows in qualifying, the stage is set for a thrilling battle under the lights in Bahrain.

Vettel knows what it takes to beat Mercedes in 2015, having claimed a shock victory at the Malaysian Grand Prix three weeks ago. High temperatures are set to favor Ferrari once again, but both Hamilton and Rosberg are more aware of the pace that the SF15-T possesses this time around.

You can read our full qualifying report here.


  • Kimi Raikkonen received a reprimand on Friday for exiting the pits in an unsafe manner during FP2. Lewis Hamilton was cleared of any wrongdoing by the stewards for the same offence.
  • Sebastian Vettel avoided a penalty despite making contact with Sergio Perez in FP2 on Friday. The German driver was found not to have been released in an unsafe state by Ferrari despite his wheel not being attached properly.
  • Jenson Button has been given permission to race in Bahrain despite not posting a time in qualifying, and therefore finishing outside of the 107% time. He did post a time quick enough to meet this in FP2, though.


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
3. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
4. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
5. Valtteri Bottas Williams
6. Felipe Massa Williams
7. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
8. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
9. Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso
10. Romain Grosjean Lotus
11. Sergio Perez Force India
12. Felipe Nasr Sauber
13. Marcus Ericsson Sauber
14. Fernando Alonso McLaren
15. Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
16. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
17. Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
18. Will Stevens Manor
19. Roberto Merhi Manor
20. Jenson Button McLaren

The Bahrain Grand Prix is live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 10:30am ET on Sunday.

Zach Veach splits with Andretti Autosport for rest of IndyCar season

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
1 Comment

Zach Veach will be leaving his Andretti Autosport ride with three races remaining in the season, choosing to explore options after the decision was made he wouldn’t return for 2021.

In a Wednesday release, Andretti Autosport said a replacement driver for the No. 26 Dallara-Honda would be named in the coming days. The NTT IndyCar Series will race Oct. 2-3 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and then conclude the season Oct. 25 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida.

Veach was ranked 11th in the points standings through 11 races of his third season with Andretti. Since a fourth in the June 6 season opener at Texas Motor Speedway, he hadn’t finished higher than 14th.

“The decision was made that I will not be returning in 2021 with Andretti Autosport in the No. 26 Gainbridge car,” Veach said in the Andretti release. “This, along with knowing that limited testing exists for teams due to COVID, have led me to the decision to step out of the car for the remainder of the 2020 IndyCar season. I am doing this to allow the team to have time with other drivers as they prepare for 2021, and so that I can also explore my own 2021 options.

“This is the hardest decision I have ever made, but to me, racing is about family, and it is my belief that you take care of your family. Andretti Autosport is my family and I feel this is what is best to help us all reach the next step. I will forever be grateful to Michael and the team for all of their support over the years. I would not be where I am today if it wasn’t for a relationship that started many years ago with Road to Indy. I will also be forever grateful to Dan Towriss for his friendship and for the opportunity he and Gainbridge have given me.

“My love for this sport and the people involved is unmeasurable, and I look forward to continuing to be amongst the racing world and fans in 2021.”

Said team owner Michael Andretti: “We first welcomed Zach to the Andretti team back in his USF2000 days and have enjoyed watching him grow and evolve as a racer, and a person. His decision to allow us to use the last few races to explore our 2021 options shows the measure of his character.

“Zach has always placed team and family first, and we’re very happy to have had him as part of ours for so many years. We wish him the best in whatever 2021 may bring and will always consider him a friend.”

Andretti fields five full-time cars for Veach, Alexander Rossi, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and Colton Herta.

It also has fielded James Hinchcliffe in three races this season.