Sebastien Bourdais back in a V8 Supercar for Pirtek Enduro Cup

Leave a comment

Sebastien Bourdais will add another type of machinery to his plate in 2015 when he makes his return to the Australian V8 Supercars later this year.

Bourdais, who starred in his previous appearances in 2011 and 2012, will share the Walkinshaw Racing Holden Commodore with Lee Holdsworth in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, the Wilson Security Sandown 500 and the Castrol Gold Coast 600 in September and October.

Sandown runs Sept. 11-13, Bathurst Oct. 8-11 and the Gold Coast Oct. 23-25.

Those are the three races that make up the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Bourdais and Jamie Whincup recorded two first and second place finishes in 2011 and 2012, then driving at Triple Eight.

Bourdais already delivered a standout drive en route to winning this year’s Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring co-driving with Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi at Action Express Racing.

Champion Marc Marquez leads MotoGP into virtual world Sunday

Sadiq Asyraf/Getty Images
Leave a comment

During its layoff because of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, MotoGP will become the latest racing series to enter the virtual world.

The MotoGP Virtual Race will be held at 9 a.m. ET Sunday, March 29 with 10 riders. It will be streamed on several platforms, including the Motorsports on NBC YouTube channel. Reigning series champion Marc Marquez is among the riders in the field.

The premier class of MotoGP has yet to hit the track this season as its opener was canceled and the next three races were postponed, including the Grand Prix of the Americas being moved from April 5 to Nov. 15.

Several other racing series have tried online racing in recent weeks.

IMSA held a “SuperSaturday at Sebring” March 21 in place of the postponed Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring. NASCAR started its Pro Invitational Series last Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway and will continue Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway. IndyCar kicked off its six-race IndyCar iRacing Challenge with a Saturday race at Watkins Glen International that was won by Sage Karam.