F1: Year-on-year, Ferrari’s gains, Mercedes’ continued edge reigns after four races

1 Comment

With back-to-back Grands Prix in the books at China and Bahrain, the 2015 Formula One season is already more than 20 percent complete. Four of the now 19 races are in the books, with the first set of flyaway races done before the primarily European stretch between May and early September.

In looking at the year-on-year points standings, Mercedes’ dominance has carried over – that is no surprise. But to see the gains made by Ferrari from a pure numbers standpoint is impressive, as the stats do back up the pace enhancements made by the Scuderia over the winter.

Additionally, there have been fewer “big” points available for the taking thus far beyond Mercedes, Ferrari and Williams this year, whereas last year it was a mad scramble from third on back behind the pair of Mercedes.

Here’s a look at where the points standings were last year after four races, followed by where they are now in 2015:


2014 2015
1. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, 79 1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 93
2. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 75 2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, 66
3. Fernando Alonso, Ferrari, 41 3. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 65
4. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, 36 4. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 42
5. Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull, 33 5. Felipe Massa, Williams, 31
6. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, 24 6. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, 30
7. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 24 7. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 19
8. Jenson Button, McLaren, 23 8. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, 14
9. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren, 20 9. Romain Grosjean, Lotus, 12
10. Sergio Perez, Force India, 18 10. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, 6
11. Felipe Massa, Williams, 12 11. Max Verstappen, Toro Rosso, 6
12. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 11 12. Carlos Sainz Jr., Toro Rosso, 6
13. Jean-Eric Vergne, Toro Rosso, 4 13. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, 5
14. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, 4 14. Sergio Perez, Force India, 5
NC. Romain Grosjean, Lotus 15. Daniil Kvyat, Red Bull, 4
NC. Marcus Ericsson, Caterham NC. Fernando Alonso, McLaren
NC. Pastor Maldonado, Lotus NC. Jenson Button, McLaren
NC. Kevin Magnussen, McLaren



2014 2015
1. Mercedes, 154 1. Mercedes, 159
2. Red Bull, 57 2. Ferrari, 107
3. Force India, 54 3. Williams, 61
4. Ferrari, 52 4. Red Bull, 23
5. McLaren, 43 5. Sauber, 19
6. Williams, 36 6. Lotus, 12
7. Toro Rosso, 8 7. Toro Rosso, 12
8. Lotus, 0 8. Force India, 11
9. Sauber, 0 9. McLaren, 0

Supercross: Enzo Lopes will race with ClubMX in 2024

Lopes ClubMX 2024
Feld Motor Sports/MX Sports Pro Racing/Align Media

Coming off his best Supercross season to date, Enzo Lopes has re-signed with Muc-Off / ClubMX Yamaha and will race for the team in 2024. The deal is for Supercross only.

Enzo Lopes won his heat race in Denver and finished fourth in the Main. – Feld Motor Sports

Lopes debuted in the Supercross series in 2019 on a Suzuki and scored his first top-10 finishes in his last two starts of that season. Showing consistent improvement, he earned six top-10s in eight Main events the following year and finished fifth in the 250 East standings. In 2022, he scored his first top-five at Daytona and finished in the top five in points again.

“I am happy to be returning to ClubMX for another season,” Lopes said in a press release. “It is like family to me there and that is very important. Although I had many options, staying where I am makes the most sense for many reasons. The bikes are great, the people are great, the tracks are amazing, and I am surrounded by people that care about me. We all want to win and together we will get there.”

While he improved his season-best performance by only one position this year, it was nevertheless a breakout season. Lopes barely missed the podium three times in 2023 with fourth-place finishes at San Diego, Seattle, and Denver.

His strong performance him rumored to be speaking with factory teams.

“We could see the growth from Enzo every time he gets on the bike,” said team owner Brandon Haas. “We all knew it was just a matter of time before he would be noticed by everyone, and we are proud of him on many levels. He had some heat race wins and qualified fastest at three events this season. It would be hard not to be noticed going that fast. He had a big decision to make and we are glad he chose to stay with us at ClubMX.”

Lopes had three podium finishes in heat races this year, including a win preceding his fourth-place finish in Denver.

Lopes will join Jeremy Martin, Phil Nicoletti and Garrett Marchbanks, who announced a two-year extension with the team in January, at the ClubMX team.