Mazda Road to Indy: Andretti down to one driver in Indy Lights


During first three races of the Indy Lights’ season in the Mazda Road to Indy ladder system, at St. Petersburg and Long Beach, Andretti Autosport had two drivers in its stable: Shelby Blackstock and former Pro Mazda champion Matthew Brabham.

However, Brabham doesn’t have a full season deal in place and after finishing seventh once and P11 in two races, it’s down to Blackstock.

Blackstock has fared slightly better through those three races, finishing 10th and 11th in the two St. Petersburg events and then climbing into the Top 10 at P9 last weekend at Long Beach.

“We’ve had a couple of really rough weekends so far,” Blackstock said in a release. “This is the first road course that the Indy Lights series has gone to this season, so we are hoping that our luck changes and we turn things around. I want to thank everyone for their support and hard work through this tough time but hopefully we can go to Barber Motorsports Park and get a solid result.”

Blackstock was promoted to Indy Lights this year after earning one win, three pole positions, 13 podiums and 18 top-five finishes in two seasons in the Pro Mazda level.

At the Pro Mazda level, Andretti Autosport could be in a good position to visit the winner’s circle at Barber. One of their drivers, Weiron Tan of Malaysia, nearly swept the two races Winterfest races at Barber, running P2 in race one and claiming the win in race 2.

Tan raced to P2 in one race at NOLA Motorsports Park two weeks ago.

Miguel Oliveira wins MotoGP Thai Grand Prix, Bagnaia closes to two points in championship

MotoGP Thai Grand Prix
Mirco Lazzari / Getty Images

Miguel Oliveira mastered mixed conditions on the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand to win the MotoGP Thai Grand Prix. Oliveira showed the adaptability as he navigated a race that began in wet conditions and turned dry over the course of the race. Oliveira won the Indonesian GP in similar conditions.

“It was a long race, but I can’t complain,” Oliveira said on CNBC. “Every time we get to ride in the wet, I’m always super-fast. When it started raining, I had flashbacks of Indonesia. I tried to keep my feet on the ground, make a good start and not make mistakes and carry the bike to the end.”

All eyes were on the championship, however. Francesco Bagnaia got a great start to slot into second in Turn 1.

Meanwhile Fabio Quartararo had a disastrous first lap. He lost five positions in the first couple of turns and then rode over the rumble strips and fell back to 17th. At the end of the first lap, Bagnaia had the points’ lead by two. A win would have added to the gain and for a moment, it appeared Bagnaia might assume the lead.

Early leader Marco Bezzecchi was penalized for exceeding track limits, but before that happened, Jack Miller got around Bagnaia and pushed him back to third. Oliveira was not far behind.

After throwing away ninth-place and seven points on the last lap of the Japanese GP last week, Bagnaia did not allow the competition to press him into a mistake. He fell back as far as fourth before retaking the final position on the podium.

“It’s like a win for me, this podium,” Bagnaia. “My first podium in the wet and then there was a mix of conditions, so I’m very happy. I want to thank Jack Miller. Before the race, he gave me a motivational chat.”

Miller led the first half of the Thai Grand Prix before giving up the top spot to Oliveira and then held on to finish second. Coupled with his Japanese GP win, Miller is now fully in the MotoGP championship battle with a 40-point deficit, but he will need a string of results like Bagnaia has put together in recent weeks – and he needs Bagnaia to lose momentum.

Miller’s home Grand Prix in Australia is next up on the calendar in two weeks.

Bagnaia entered the race 18 points behind Quartararo after he failed to score any in Japan. The balance of power has rapidly shifted, however, with Quartararo now failing to earn points in two of the last three rounds. Bagnaia won four consecutive races and finished second in the five races leading up to Japan. His third-place finish in Thailand is now his sixth MotoGP podium in the last seven rounds.

Aleix Espargaro entered the race third in the standings with a 25-point deficit to Quartararo, but was able to close the gap by only five after getting hit with a long-lap penalty for aggressive riding when he pushed Darryn Binder off course during a pass for position. Espargaro finished 11th.

Rain mixed up the Moto2 running order in the MotoGP Thai Grand Prix as well. Starting on a wet track, Somkiat Chantra led the opening lap in his home Grand Prix. He could not hold onto it and crashed one circuit later, but still gave his countrymen a moment of pride by winning the pole.

Half points were awarded as the race went only eight laps before Tony Arbolino crossed under the checkers first with Filip Salac and Aron Canet rounding out the podium.

American Joe Roberts earned another top-10 in eighth with Sean Dylan Kelly finishing just outside the top 10 in 11th.