Indy Lights: Pigot follows up Barber pole with race one dominance

Leave a comment

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Spencer Pigot did what he needed to do Saturday following a dominant run to pole on Friday in the first Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires race of the weekend at Barber Motorsports Park, en route to his first win in the series.

The Rising Star Racing-backed driver, who advanced into Indy Lights via the Mazda scholarship after winning last year’s Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, enjoyed a perfect race Saturday at the 2.3-mile track.

Pigot led all 30 laps in the No. 12 Juncos Racing Dallara IL15-Mazda en route to a 6.7109-second win over Jack Harvey, who posted his third runner-up finish in four races to open the year.

Besides Pigot, the other star of the race was RC Enerson, who gained two spots on the opening lap and then defended perfectly against Ed Jones. Carlin’s Jones opened the year with three wins in as many races but was never able to get around Enerson for third.

Contact occurred at the first turn of the opening lap between Juan Piedrahita, Sean Rayhall and Scott Anderson. Piedrahita got into Rayhall, who then got into Anderson. Both Rayhall and Anderson pitted for new front wings; Rayhall, on sticker tires, later set the fastest race lap of 1:13.8312 in his debut race with 8Star Motorsports.

Highlights of today’s race one, and Round 4 of the season, will be shown during the Indy Lights race broadcast on NBCSN, which will air Monday morning at midnight ET (9 p.m. PT Sunday night).

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.