Lewis Hamilton tops British sporting rich list

1 Comment

Two-time Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton has been named Britain’s richest sportsman after increasing his wealth by £20m ($30.3m) in the past year.

Hamilton clinched his second world title at last year’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix following a season-long battle with Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, and has won three of the first four races of the 2015 season.

He is doing very well off track as well, it seems, with The Sunday Times in London naming him as the wealthiest sportsman in Britain as part of its annual ‘rich list’.

The newspaper publishes a list of the 1,000 wealthiest people in Great Britain every year, but has released the sporting rich list one day ahead of the full ranking.

Hamilton remains in pole position from 2014 after increasing his personal wealth from £68m to £88m ($133m) in the past year. With a new contract soon to be signed with Mercedes as well, this figure is only set to rise in the coming years.

He is joined on the rich list by McLaren’s Jenson Button, who sits third on £71m ($107m), £1m behind Manchester United and England soccer captain Wayne Rooney (£72m).

Tennis player Andy Murray sits fourth on the list on £48m ahead of Queen’s Park Rangers’ soccer player Rio Ferdinand and Liverpool’s Steven Gerrard, who are fifth and sixth respectively.

Miami Heat’s British basketball player Luol Deng is joint-seventh alongside Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho on £40m, ahead of New York City FC’s Frank Lampard in ninth (£39m). Nick Faldo (golf), Ryan Giggs (soccer), Rory McIlroy (golf) and Arsene Wenger (soccer) were joint-tenth on £38m.

The Sunday Times Rich List 2015 – Britain’s Richest Sportsmen and Managers

Wealth has been converted to USD, as per xe.com.

1. Lewis Hamilton (F1) $133m
2. Wayne Rooney (soccer) $109m
3. Jenson Button (F1) $107m
4. Andy Murray (tennis) $73m
5. Rio Ferdinand (soccer) $67m
6. Steven Gerrard (soccer) $64m
=7. Luol Deng (basketball) $61m
=7. Jose Mourinho (soccer) $61m
9. Frank Lampard (soccer) $59m
=10. Nick Faldo (golf) $58m
=10. Ryan Giggs (soccer) $58m
=10. Rory McIlroy (golf) $58m
=10. Arsene Wenger (soccer) $58m

Starting lineup grid for IMSA Petit Le Mans: Tom Blomqvist puts MSR on pole position

Petit Le Mans lineup

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar championship contender Tom Blomqvist put the Meyer Shank Racing Acura at the front of the starting lineup for the Motul Petit Le Mans at Michelin Road Atlanta.

Blomqvist turned a 1-minute, 8.55-second lap on the 2.54-mile circuit Friday to capture his third pole position for MSR this season. Earl Bamber qualified second in the No. 02 Cadillac for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Ricky Taylor was third in the No. 10 Acura of Wayne Taylor Racing, which enters Saturday’s season finale with a 19-point lead over the No. 60 of Blomqvist and Oliver Jarvis (who will be joined by Helio Castroneves) for the 10-hour race.

PETIT LE MANS STARTING GRID: Click here for the starting lineup l Lineup by car number

PETIT LE MANS: Info on how to watch

With the pole, MSR sliced the deficit to 14 points behind WTR, which will field the trio of Taylor, Filipe Albuquerque and Brendon Hartley in Saturday’s race.

“We really needed to put the car in this kind of position,” Blomqvist said. “It makes our life a little less stressful tomorrow. It would have given the No. 10 a bit more breathing space. It’s going to be a proper dogfight tomorrow. The guys gave me such a great car. It’s been fantastic this week so far, and it really came alive. I’m hugely thankful to the boys and girls at MSR for giving me the wagon today to execute my job.

“That was a big effort from me. I knew how important it was. It’s just awesome for the guys to give them some sort of reward as well. It’s always nice to be quick. If you do the pole, you know you’ve got a quick car.”

Though WTR has a series-leading four victories with the No. 10, MSR won the Rolex 24 at Daytona and has five runner-up finishes along with its three poles.

The strong performances of the ARX-05s ensure that an Acura will win the final championship in IMSA’s premier Daytona Prototype international (DPi) division, which is being rebranded as Grand Touring Prototype in the move to LMDh cars next season.

Taylor qualified third despite sliding into the Turn 5 gravel during the closing minutes of qualifying while pushing to gain points.

“Qualifying was important for points,” Taylor said. “Going into it, if we outqualified the No. 60 Meyer Shank Acura, they had a lot to lose in terms of championship points. So, we were trying to increase the gap over 20 points which would’ve made a big difference for tomorrow. We would have loved to get the pole and qualify ahead of the No. 60, but in the scheme of the points, it didn’t change a whole lot. I’m feeling good since it’s such a long race, and the No. 10 Konica Minolta Acura team does such a good job strategizing and putting us in a good position.

“I’m very confident in our lineup and our team compared to them over the course of 10 hours. I’d put my two teammates up against those guys any day. I think we are all feeling optimistic and strong for tomorrow.”

In other divisions, PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports (LMP2), Riley Motorsports (LMP3), VasserSullivan (GTD Pro) and Paul Miller Racing (GTD) captured pole positions.

The broadcast of the 10-hour race will begin Saturday at 12:10 p.m. ET on NBC, moving at 3 p.m. to USA Network.



Results by class

Fastest lap by driver

Fastest lap by driver after qualifying

Fastest lap by driver and class after qualifying

Fastest lap sequence in qualifying

Best sector times in qualifying

Time cards in qualifying

PRACTICE RESULTS: Session I l Session II l Session III