IMS Hall of Fame museum announces several special exhibits


Some special exhibits are coming to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame museum this year. See the release below:

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Foundation, Inc., d/b/a the Hall of Fame Museum, is pleased to announce several upcoming special exhibits.

The Racing Cars of Dan Gurney – An All-American Exhibition
May 1-Nov. 30, 2015

Retired Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500 driver Dan Gurney is the focus of the Hall of Fame’s latest special exhibit, which highlights 11 cars he built or drove. The exhibit includes several examples of Eagle racing cars produced by Gurney’s All American Racers of Santa Ana, California. The three Indianapolis 500-winning Eagle race cars displayed were driven by Bobby Unser in 1968 and 1975, and by Gordon Johncock in 1973. The 1973 winning race car is on loan to the Museum by a private owner and the 1975 race car is on loan from The Revs Institute for Automotive Research Inc. The exhibit also features the Gurney-Weslake V-12 owned by The Revs Institute for Automotive Research Inc., with which Gurney won the 1967 Belgian Grand Prix, the only World Championship Grand Prix race won by an American driver in an American car. The exhibit includes the 1991 Eagle GTP Mark III Coupe, one of six constructed. It was driven by Juan Manuel Fangio II and won 21 of 27 events entered, including an amazing run of 14 victories in succession. That vehicle is on loan from the Malloy Foundation, Inc.

Vehicle of the Month
Updated on the 15th of every month

The Hall of Fame Museum’s collection includes many more vehicles – by a multiple of more than five – than it can display at any one time. To better share this extensive collection with the community, the Museum will pull one vehicle out of storage each month for public viewing as its Vehicle of the Month.

Through May 15

Ferrari Type-375: As spring reaches Indiana, the Hall of Fame Museum is featuring the Ferrari Type-375, which showcases a 2.5 liter, 12-cylinder Ferrari engine.

Four updated 1951 Ferrari Grand Prix cars were prepared for the 1952 Indianapolis 500, three of which were sold to American customers.  Scuderia Ferrari campaigned the fourth itself.

Future world champion Alberto Ascari passed up the Swiss Grand Prix in order to drive the “works” car, the only one of the four to qualify. The choice of wire wheels over “mags” proved costly, however, as Ascari was forced out at 100 miles with a collapsed wheel just after having entered the top 10. The private entries were assigned to Johnnie Parsons and Bobby Ball, plus Johnny Mauro, who entered the car on display.  Although the paint work on the display car resembles Ascari’s car number 12, at the time Mauro’s number 35 was white with blue numbers and lettering. Ascari did drive this car briefly during practice.

Coming May 15

1972/73 Sugaripe Prune Eagle No. 2: May will feature a turbocharged Drake Offenhauser-powered, 1972 Dan Gurney All American Racers Eagle, owned by sportsman Jerry O’Connell and driven in 1972, 1973 and 1974 by Bill Vukovich Jr., who finished second in the rain-shortened Indianapolis 500 in 1973.  This vehicle will complement the 11 race cars included in the Museum’s special exhibit about Dan Gurney race cars, which are on display from May 1-Nov. 30, 2015.

Coming June 15

1950 Cummins Diesel No. 61: Commissioned for the 1950 Indianapolis 500 by Cummins Engine Co. of Columbus, Indiana, this Kurtis-Kraft chassis housed a 401-cubic-inch supercharged Cummins Diesel truck engine.  Driven by Jimmy Jackson, who later broke several speed records with it at the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah, it was eliminated after 52 laps in 1950 with supercharger drive failure.

To learn what new treasure will be on display each month, check our website at You’ll see what vehicle is currently on display and a hint or two about the next several months’ offerings. You’ll also get a chance to see what you missed.

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.