Report: Formula E to have 12 to 13 races in 2016


According to, the all electric, Formula E open-wheel series will be adding two races to its schedule for the 2015-16 season.

This season, the series’ first, has 10 rounds of racing that began last September and conclude in June.

Those new races could be a February event in Mexico City and an April race in Paris, which has yet to approved by the French government.

Formula E boss Alejandro Agag told the series hopes to have its schedule finalized within the next two weeks.

“We are very close to knowing a provisional calendar for season two,” Agag said. “We then want to get it ratified at the FIA World Council meeting in July and announced. We are waiting for Paris, but it is getting closer.

“Most of the ‘green lights’ are there, but we just need to wait for the final one.”

Four events remain on Formula E’s inaugural schedule at Monte Carlo, Monaco on Saturday; Berlin, Germany on May 23; Moscow, Russia on June 6 and dual races in London, England on June 27 – 28.