Buemi goes wire-to-wire to win Monaco ePrix

Leave a comment

e.dams driver Sebastien Buemi has become the first driver to win multiple races in the FIA Formula E championship after going wire-to-wire in today’s Monaco ePrix.

The Frenchman clinched pole position on Saturday afternoon in Monaco, and after retaining the lead at the start of the race, he controlled proceedings to lead every lap and win the race by 2.1 seconds from championship leader Lucas di Grassi.

Buemi managed to fend off the Brazilian’s advances at the start of the race, but further back, a number of drivers got caught up in incidents at the tight first corner complex, resulting in immediate retirements for Jaime Alguersuari and Bruno Senna.

Jean-Eric Vergne, Salvador Duran, Loic Duval and Daniel Abt were able to crawl back to the pits despite sustaining damage to their cars, but none of the quartet managed to complete the full distance of 47 laps due to the limited power of their second cars.

Buemi soaked up the pressure applied by di Grassi throughout the opening half of the race, prompting the Brazilian to pit early with 10% of his energy remaining in a bid to get the undercut on the race leader.

However, Buemi reacted quickly, pitting two laps later to exit the pits just ahead of di Grassi, resulting in a close fight between the two drivers heading to the hairpin at what normally acts as the Nouvelle Chicane.

From then on, the e.dams driver simply had to monitor his energy usage and the gap to di Grassi, who came under pressure from title rival Nelson Piquet Jr in the final stages of the race. The Audi Sport ABT driver managed to hang on to second place though, extending his championship lead over Piquet to four points.

Sam Bird managed to fight his way through the field to finish an excellent fourth for Virgin Racing, battling past Jerome d’Ambrosio after pitting. Nicolas Prost crossed the line in sixth place in the second e.dams car ahead of Stephane Sarrazin, who was the biggest beneficiary from the first lap melee. Scott Speed finished eighth in the sole remaining Andretti ahead of Charles Pic and Antonio Felix da Costa.

With just three rounds and four races remaining, the title battle in Formula E does appear to be shaping up. Di Grassi remains in the lead over Piquet, but with two wins now in the books, Buemi has brought himself to within ten points of the lead.

The next ePrix takes place in Berlin on May 23.

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”