The 34-car, 2015 Indy 500 entry list is officially revealed


The entry list for the 99th Indianapolis 500 has been officially revealed, with no major surprises among the 34 cars entered.

Six past race winners are on the list, spanning from 1996 champion Buddy Lazier in his own Lazier Racing Partners entry through last year’s winner Ryan Hunter-Reay. The others include Juan Pablo Montoya (2000), Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013) and the lone multiple-time winner in the field, Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), who remains in search of his elusive fourth win in the race.

There’s only two rookies entered, in full-season rookies Stefano Coletti and Gabby Chaves. If it remains just a two-driver rookie class, and at this stage that’s likely given any newcomer would have to complete the Rookie Orientation Program in a condensed time frame, it would be the fewest number since 2007, when Phil Giebler and Milka Duno were the only first-timers.

The only TBA listed is Dale Coyne Racing’s No. 19 Honda, with Carlos Huertas listed in the No. 18 car. Huertas returned to the cockpit after a two-race absence Saturday in the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis; according to some paddock sources, it was unclear whether Huertas would continue for the rest of the season or even the rest of the month.

Several drivers would be vying for that remaining seat with Coyne, with Coyne telling me Saturday he hopes to have at least two cars out and running in tomorrow’s practice.

Here’s the entry list in full.