Indy 500 qualifying postponed until Sunday due to rain


UPDATE 14:30 ET – Indianapolis Motor Speedway has confirmed that qualifying for the 99th Indianapolis 500 will now be held on Sunday after rain limited Saturday’s session to just two complete runs.

Following an earlier delay in final practice due to wet weather, conditions at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway improved to allow qualifying to kick off at 12:25pm ET.

Carlos Huertas opened the running for Dale Coyne Racing, posting a four-lap average of 228.235mph. He was followed by defending Indy 500 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay out on track, who managed to edge out the Colombian with a four-lap average of 229.845mph, giving himself an early provisional pole position.

Long Beach winner Scott Dixon (pictured) did look to threaten Hunter-Reay’s place at the top of the timesheets from the beginning of his run, putting in a first flying lap of 231.357mph.

However, Dixon’s charge was quickly brought to a halt after light rain began to fall at IMS, forcing officials to issue yellow flags and force the New Zealander to pit.

The rain soon intensified, prompting race control to issue a message that said qualifying would not resume until 3pm ET at the absolute earliest, given that a completely dry track is required for running to take place.

At 2:09pm ET, IMS confirmed via its Twitter account that qualifying has been postponed until tomorrow.

As per the circuit’s website, here is the revised schedule for tomorrow’s running:

  • 8am – 8:20 am – Practice Group 1
  • 8:20am – 8:40 am – Practice Group 2
  • 10 am – 1 pm Qualifications
  • 1:45pm – 2:30pm – Fast 9
  • 3pm – 3:45 pm – Group 2 Qualifying (Positions 31-33)