Starting grid for the 2015 Monaco Grand Prix

Leave a comment

Lewis Hamilton ended a nine-year wait on Saturday to claim his maiden pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix with a scintillating display towards the end of qualifying.

Despite having 42 career pole positions to his name heading into the race weekend, Hamilton had not started from pole in the principality since he was racing in GP2 back in 2006.

However, he changed all of that on Saturday to claim his 43rd – and arguably his most important – career pole position for Mercedes ahead of teammate and title rival Nico Rosberg.

Rosberg heads into the race on Sunday with history against him, given that only one of the last eleven races in Monaco have been won from anywhere but pole position.

Should he manage to get the better of Hamilton and clinch the victory on Sunday, though, he would become just the fourth driver in the history of F1 to win three successive races in Monaco.

For a full report of qualifying, click here. Remember that you can watch the Monaco Grand Prix live on NBCSN and Live Extra from 7am ET, before switching over to NBC at 7:30am ET. For more details, click here.


  • Romain Grosjean has been hit with a five-place grid penalty after Lotus changed the gearbox on his car before it had completed six races.
  • Carlos Sainz Jr will start the race from the pit lane after failing to complete a customary weight check during Q1 on Saturday. He had been due to line up eighth on the grid.


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
5. Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
6. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
7. Sergio Perez Force India
8. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
9. Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
10. Jenson Button McLaren
11. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
12. Felipe Massa Williams
13. Fernando Alonso McLaren
14. Felipe Nasr Sauber
15. Romain Grosjean Lotus
16. Valtteri Bottas Williams
17. Marcus Ericsson Sauber
18. Will Stevens Manor
19. Roberto Merhi Manor
PL. Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso

IndyCar teams with NASCAR on IMS road course doubleheader in 2021

IndyCar NASCAR doubleheader 2021
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

The NTT IndyCar Series will be sharing Indianapolis Motor Speedway with the NASCAR Cup Series in a race weekend doubleheader for the second consecutive season, but both series will be on the road course in August 2021.

IMS announced Wednesday that IndyCar will hold an Aug. 14, 2021 race on its 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. It’ll be a day before NASCAR’s premier series runs the same layout for the first time after the Brickyard 400 was contested on the 2.5-mile oval for the first time in 27 years.

This season’s rescheduling of the IndyCar GMR Grand Prix to July 4, 2019 (a day before the Brickyard 400) led to the first NASCAR-IndyCar doubleheader weekend. The Xfinity Series also raced on the IMS road course for the first time July 4 after the IndyCar race ended.

INDYCAR AT IMS THIS WEEKEND: Harvest GP schedule, entry lists

IndyCar will be holding its second race weekend this year at the IMS road course Friday and Saturday with the Harvest GP.

“Our first NASCAR-INDYCAR weekend was a big success last July, with positive feedback from
our loyal fans who watched the races on NBC and from the drivers, teams and participants
involved,” IMS president Douglas Boles said in a statement. “The Xfinity Series’ debut on the IMS road course provided exactly the kind of thrilling action from the green to checkered flags that we anticipated, so we know the teams and drivers of the Cup Series will put on a great show as they turn left and right for the first time at IMS.

“We can’t wait to welcome back fans to see NASCAR and INDYCAR together during this
exciting weekend as we add another memorable chapter in the long, storied history of the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway.”

It also will mark the first NASCAR Cup-IndyCar doubleheader with a crowd as fans weren’t permitted at IMS in July because of the novel coronvavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Over the course of Wednesday, NASCAR is releasing its 36-race slate for next season. IndyCar has yet to release its full 2021 schedule.