Hangover? How Indy 500 winners have fared in their follow-up races


Winning the Indianapolis 500 is a moment of joy, ecstasy and tears followed by a week-long gauntlet of media obligations across the country and around the world.

Before you know it, you’re back in the cockpit and racing again.

Juan Pablo Montoya seems to have shaken the week off already, having qualified third for race one of the Chevrolet Dual in Detroit.

But that’s now always the case for the winner of the biggest race in the sport in his follow-up performance.

Here are the Indy 500 winner’s results in their next race dating back to Montoya in 2000.

2014 – Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dual in Detroit

Race 1: Started 21st, finished 16th; Race 2: Started 21st, finished 18th (electrical)

2013 – Tony Kanaan, Dual in Detroit:

Race 1:  Started 19th, finished 13th; Race 2: Started 19th, Finished 12th

2012 – Dario Franchitti, Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix:

Started 14th, Finished 2nd

2011 – Dan Wheldon, Kentucky Indy 300 (October 2nd):

Started 28th, Finished 14th

2010 – Dario Franchitti, Firestone 550K at Texas Motor Speedway:

Started 2nd, finished 5th

2009 – Helio Castroneves, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Started 20th, Finished 11th

2008 – Scott Dixon, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Started 3rd, Finished 2nd

2007 – Dario Franchitti, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Stared 10th, Finished 2nd

2006 – Sam Hornish Jr., Watkins Glen Indy Grand Prix:

Started 6th, Finished 12th

2005 – Dan Wheldon, Bombardier LearJet 500K at TMS:

Started 8th, Finished 6th

2004 – Buddy Rice, Bombardier 500 at TMS:

Started 2nd, finished 15th (crash)

2003 – Gil De Ferran, Bombardier 500 at TMS:

Started and finished 8th

2002 – Helio Castroneves, Boomtown 500 at TMS:

Started 5th, Finished 4th

2001 – Helio Castroneves, Miller Lite 225 at Milwaukee Mile (CART race)

Started 2nd, Finished 26th (last, crash)

2000 – Juan Pablo Montoya, Miller Lite 225 at Milwaukee Mile (CART race)

Won from the pole.

Houston Supercross by the numbers: Five riders begin to gap the field


Chase Sexton stumbled in San Diego and Eli Tomac had a hard fall in Anaheim 2, but the Monster Energy Supercross numbers for Houston suggest they will continue to be the ones to beat in Houston. To do so, they will have to turn back challenges from another pair of riders who have swept the top five in the first three rounds and another with a worst finish of sixth.

Houston Supercross numbers
Cooper Webb’s ability to close races makes him a Houston favorite. – Feld Motor Sports

Despite an accident in his heat in San Diego that sent him to the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ), Sexton recovered to score a top-five that weekend. His podium finish in Anaheim 1 and overall win last week in Anaheim 2 makes him one of the three riders with a perfect top-five record. He is joined by Cooper Webb, who finished second in the first two rounds and fourth last week, and Ken Roczen, whose consistency in the first three races contributed to him grabbing the top spot in this week’s NBC Supercross Power Rankings.

There are reasons to believe Webb and Roczen can keep those streaks alive.

Webb is the only multiple winner at Supercross’ current Houston stadium. His pair of wins came in 2019 and 2021, the same year he won his two 450 championships.

Clinton Fowler points out this week, that Webb has carried that strength into 2023. Webb had a late surge in Anaheim 1, advancing from fifth to second in the final six laps. In San Diego, he set his ninth fastest lap with two to go and his eighth fastest on the final lap. He posted his fastest lap of Anaheim 2 on Lap 12 while the rest of the field did so on Lap 6 on average.

By comparison, Tomac set his 14th fastest lap on the final circuit in route to winning the Main at San Diego while he was trying to keep Webb at bay.

With a sixth at San Diego, Dylan Ferrandis barely missed sweeping the top five in his first three races as did Tomac with a sixth last week at Anaheim 2.

This will be the 46th year Supercross has visited Houston and with 55 races the city is tied for the second-most with Detroit.

Jim Pomeroy won the first race in the Astrodome during the inaugural season of 1974 on a 250, which was the premiere class at the time. Houston was one of three races held that year along with events at Daytona International Speedway and the Los Angeles Coliseum. All three venues return in 2023 with the first SuperMotocross championship finale returning to the famed LA Coliseum in September.

Webb won most recently in 2021 in the final race of three held there that year as the series executed a strategy of racing in residencies to limit travel during height of the COVID-19 pandemic. Tomac and Justin Barcia also won in Houston in 2021.

Two privateers have started the season on a high note.

Joshua Cartwright and Joshua Varize have each made the last two Mains. Cartwright finished 18th in San Diego and 21st last week in Anaheim 2 – all while working fulltime as a Business Intelligence Analyst at the University of Texas, Dallas. Varize earned a top-15 (12th) in San Diego and was 21st in Anaheim 2 in his third season on a 450.

Michael Mosiman scored his first 250 win last year in San Diego. – Feld Motor Sports

The numbers show none of the active 250 Supercross East riders have won in Houston, so no matter who steps on top of the box, there is going to be a fresh face. That is not surprising since most of the top competitors have not raced at this venue yet.

Michael Mosiman has a pair of top-fives there, however. His best finish was a second in the second 2021 race. Garrett Marchbanks scored a top-10 in his rookie season of 2019 in Houston.

In the 250 East division, Hunter Lawrence is one of the favorites to win the title now that Christian Craig has moved to 450s. Last year he had four wins and nine podiums, but failed to set a fast lap in a race.

The other 250 riders with 2022 wins this week are Mosiman, who earned his first Supercross win last year in San Diego, and Nate Thrasher, who became the fifth new class winner at Daytona.

Jeremy Martin will attempt to extend a record this week in Houston. His division leading SuperMotocross podiums number 65. He has 26 wins in the combined sessions, which ranks fourth all time.

Last Five Houston Winners

2022, no race
2021, Race 3: Cooper Webb
2021, Race 2: Eli Tomac
2021, Race 1: Justin Barcia
2020, no race
2019, Cooper Webb
2018, Jason Anderson

2022, no race
2021, Race 3: Colt Nichols
2021, Race 2: Jett Lawrence
2021, Race 1: Christian Craig
2020, no race
2019, Dylan Ferrandis
2018, Aaron Plessinger

By the Numbers

Anaheim 2
San Diego

More SuperMotocross coverage

Supercross unveils 16th edition of a Ricky Carmichael designed Daytona track
Power Rankings after week 3
Malcom Stewart out for “extended duration” after knee surgery
Haiden Deegan makes Supercross debut in Houston, Justin Cooper to 450s
Talon Hawkins set to relieve injured Jalek Swoll in Houston
Jalek Swoll out for an indefinite period with broken arm
Ken Roczen urgently needed a change
Chris Blose joins Pro Circuit Kawasaki in 250 East opener
Seth Hammaker to miss Houston with wrist injury
Jo Shimoda joins Seth Hammaker, Austin Forkner on injured list
Injury sidelines Austin Forkner for remainder of 2023 SX
Chase Sexton wins Anaheim 2 in 450s; Levi Kitchen takes 250s
Results and points from Anaheim 2