Hangover? How Indy 500 winners have fared in their follow-up races


Winning the Indianapolis 500 is a moment of joy, ecstasy and tears followed by a week-long gauntlet of media obligations across the country and around the world.

Before you know it, you’re back in the cockpit and racing again.

Juan Pablo Montoya seems to have shaken the week off already, having qualified third for race one of the Chevrolet Dual in Detroit.

But that’s now always the case for the winner of the biggest race in the sport in his follow-up performance.

Here are the Indy 500 winner’s results in their next race dating back to Montoya in 2000.

2014 – Ryan Hunter-Reay, Dual in Detroit

Race 1: Started 21st, finished 16th; Race 2: Started 21st, finished 18th (electrical)

2013 – Tony Kanaan, Dual in Detroit:

Race 1:  Started 19th, finished 13th; Race 2: Started 19th, Finished 12th

2012 – Dario Franchitti, Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix:

Started 14th, Finished 2nd

2011 – Dan Wheldon, Kentucky Indy 300 (October 2nd):

Started 28th, Finished 14th

2010 – Dario Franchitti, Firestone 550K at Texas Motor Speedway:

Started 2nd, finished 5th

2009 – Helio Castroneves, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Started 20th, Finished 11th

2008 – Scott Dixon, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Started 3rd, Finished 2nd

2007 – Dario Franchitti, ABC Supply / A.J. Foyt Indy 225 at the Milwaukee Mile:

Stared 10th, Finished 2nd

2006 – Sam Hornish Jr., Watkins Glen Indy Grand Prix:

Started 6th, Finished 12th

2005 – Dan Wheldon, Bombardier LearJet 500K at TMS:

Started 8th, Finished 6th

2004 – Buddy Rice, Bombardier 500 at TMS:

Started 2nd, finished 15th (crash)

2003 – Gil De Ferran, Bombardier 500 at TMS:

Started and finished 8th

2002 – Helio Castroneves, Boomtown 500 at TMS:

Started 5th, Finished 4th

2001 – Helio Castroneves, Miller Lite 225 at Milwaukee Mile (CART race)

Started 2nd, Finished 26th (last, crash)

2000 – Juan Pablo Montoya, Miller Lite 225 at Milwaukee Mile (CART race)

Won from the pole.