Rahal, Kimball out early in Detroit (VIDEO)

0 Comments

Two of the top-five finishers in the Indianapolis 500 – Graham Rahal and Charlie Kimball – are out in the first 15 laps in the first race of this weekend’s Chevrolet Dual in Detroit Presented by Quicken Loans.

On a Lap 6 restart in race one, a four-car incident took Rahal out of the race, and also involved Tony Kanaan, James Jakes and Stefano Coletti.

The field, which is running on a rain-soaked track, was entering Turn 1 when Coletti, Jakes and Kanaan went three-wide. Coletti bounced off of Jakes’ left-rear tire and into Kanaan, sending his No. 10 Chevrolet sponsored by Big Machine Records and featuring Taylor Swift’s THE 1989 WORLD TOUR into the tire barrier.

Rahal then came onto the scene and having nowhere to go, ran into the back of Kanaan’s car, damaging his right-front wheel.

“I think a lot of people are just taking stupid chances early in the race,” Rahal told ABC. “(Josef) Newgarden dove underneath me and I was letting him go and unfortunately, that put me a car width off the inside and Kanaan and Jakes crashed.”

The result ends a three-race streak of top-five finishes for Rahal and his No. 15 Steak N’ Shake team.

“It’s impossible to see right now (because of the rain),” Rahal said. “You just got to be smart out there, be really, really cautious. I was just playing this out as a 70-lap race or two hours, and I don’t think lot of guys are right now.”

The other three cars involved remain in the race, Coletti runs in 11th and Kanaan and Jakes are listed in 22nd and 20th.

Shortly thereafter, Kimball smacked the wall exiting Turn 2, and his No. 83 Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet was done on the spot.

“We caught up and I just hit a puddle into 2 and the car just snapped,” Kimball told ABC’s Jon Beekhuis. “It’s a shame but we’ll come back tomorrow and have a good race.”

It ends a run of three consecutive top-five finishes for Rahal and two in a row for Kimball.

Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series triples to 34 races in 2023

Xtreme Outlaw Midget 2023
Xtreme Outlaw Series
0 Comments

After hosting 10 rounds in 2022, the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series 2023 schedule will more than triple to 34 races. The 2022 season featured seven different winners in the first seven races, a female racer in Jade Avedisian as the only repeat winner and Zach Daum as the champion.

“Dirt Midget racing is a growing entity in American motorsports, and the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series presented by Toyota is proud to drive further into the growth of the division with both a diverse and lucrative schedule for 2023,” newly appointed Series Director Tyler Bachman said in a press release. “From the kickoff at our first indoor event, to each of the new tracks we’re set to visit next year, it’s a lineup we know both our teams and fans will enjoy.”

The championship purse fund has also more than double with an increase of $42,000 to $80,000 in 2023. The champion will win $25,000. Last year, Daum pocketed $10,000.

In addition, the series will offer tow money to the top 12 in points. Six drivers attempted to qualify for all 10 races in 2022 with 89 drivers attending.

The series will begin on March 10 at Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin, Ill. and end the same place it did in 2022 at I-44 Riverside Speedway in Oklahoma City on October 15.

During the season, they will visit 21 tracks in 10 states.

Some highlights of the season include the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series pairing up with the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars in 2023 at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo. in April for the Outlaw Showdown and again in August for the Ironman 55 weekend, as well as the creation of a five-day Midget Speedweek.

The Midget Speedweek will immediately follow the Ironman 55 with a swing through Pennsylvania and New York.

Xtreme Outlaw Midget 2023 Schedule

Friday, March 10 | Southern Illinois Center | Du Quoin, Ill.
Saturday, March 11 | Southern Illinois Center | Du Quoin, Ill.
Friday, March 31 | Farmer City Raceway | Farmer City, Ill.

Saturday, April 1 | Farmer City Raceway | Farmer City, Ill.
Friday, April 14 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Saturday, April 15 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.

Friday, May 5 | Humboldt Speedway | Humboldt, Kan.
Saturday, May 6 | 81 Speedway | Park City, Kan.
Tuesday, May 23 | Millbridge Speedway | Salisbury, N.C.
Wednesday, May 24 | Millbridge Speedway | Salisbury, N.C.

Thursday, June 1 | Tri-City Speedway | Pontoon Beach, Ill.
Friday, June 2 | Wayne County Speedway | Wayne City, Ill.
Saturday, June 3 | Wayne County Speedway | Wayne City, Ill.

Friday, July 21 | TBA
Saturday, July 22 | Southern Illinois Raceway | Marion, Ill.
Friday, July 28 | TBA
Saturday, July 29 | Atomic Speedway | Chillicothe, Ohio
Sunday, July 30 | Brushcreek Motorsports Complex | Peebles, Ohio

Friday, August 4 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Sat, August 5 | Federated AP Raceway at I-55 | Pevely, Mo.
Tuesday, August 8 | Clyde Martin Memorial Speedway | Newmanstown, Pa.
Wednesday, August 9 | Action Track USA | Kutztown, Pa.
Thursday, August 10 | Linda’s Speedway | Jonestown, Pa.
Friday, August 11 | TBA
Saturday, August 12 | Bridgeport Motorsports Park | Swedesboro, N.J.
Friday, August 25 | Davenport Speedway | Davenport, Iowa
Saturday, August 26 | Davenport Speedway | Davenport, Iowa

Friday, September 1 | Paragon Speedway | Paragon, Ind.
Saturday, September 2 | Paragon Speedway | Paragon, Ind.
Friday, September 15 | Jacksonville Speedway | Jacksonville, Ill.
Saturday, September 16 | Red Hill Raceway | Sumner, Ill.

Friday, October 13 | Port City Raceway | Tulsa, Okla.
Saturday, October 14 | I-44 Riverside Speedway | Oklahoma City, Okla.
Sunday, October 15 | I-44 Riverside Speedway | Oklahoma City, Okla.

* Co-sanctioned with POWRi