Starting grid for the 2015 Canadian Grand Prix


Lewis Hamilton’s bid to bounce back from his disappointing defeat in Monaco continued in style on Saturday as he secured pole position for the Canadian Grand Prix in Montreal.

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve has been a happy hunting ground for Hamilton throughout his F1 career, being the site of his first ever pole and win back in 2007 when he was a rookie.

However, this pole meant just as much to him, given that it was the 44th of his F1 career – 44 being the number he races with – at the place where it all began.

Merceds teammate Nico Rosberg was unable to put up much of a fight for pole position thanks to a lack of grip in his final qualifying runs on Saturday, leaving him second on the grid. However, he could complete a hat-trick of wins in the race if he can get the better of Hamilton in Montreal.

Ferrari’s hopes of a challenge to Mercedes’ dominance faded quickly in qualifying as an engine failure left Vettel 16th in the final standings. Kimi Raikkonen spared the Italian marque’s blushes by finishing third, but with Vettel also receiving a grid penalty, the German has a big task ahead in the race.

To read our complete report from qualifying, click here.


  • As mentioned, Vettel was handed a five place grid drop after passing Roberto Merhi under a red flag during FP3 on Saturday morning. The German also received three penalty points on his FIA super license.
  • Max Verstappen entered the weekend with a five place grid penalty in the bag for crashing into Romain Grosjean in Monaco, but received another ten place drop after Toro Rosso changed his engine. Given that he cannot serve all of his sanction, the Dutchman will also have to complete a stop/go penalty in the race.
  • Jenson Button failed to get out in qualifying thanks to an engine problem. Although McLaren have fixed it for race day, doing so has incurred a 15-place grid penalty. Again, as he cannot serve all (or any) of it, he will have to serve a drive-through penalty in the race.


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
4. Valtteri Bottas Williams
5. Romain Grosjean Lotus
6. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
7. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
8. Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
9. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
10. Sergio Perez Force India
11. Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso
12. Marcus Ericsson Sauber
13. Fernando Alonso McLaren
14. Felipe Nasr Sauber
15. Felipe Massa Williams
16. Roberto Merhi Manor
17. Will Stevens Manor
18. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
19. Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
20. Jenson Button McLaren

The Canadian Grand Prix is live on NBC from 2pm on Sunday, with F1 Countdown kicking off at 1:30pm ET on NBCSN.