Le Mans: Meet the Americans in this year’s 24 Hours

1 Comment

Here’s a look at the 18 American drivers in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans (7 LMP2, 2 GTE-Pro, 9 GTE-Am). The number is the same as last year, thanks to an increase in the LMP2 class balancing out the drop in GTE-Am.

  • David Cheng, Chinese-born but sharing U.S. and Hong Kong residence, makes his second 24 Hours of Le Mans start in the No. 29 Pegasus Racing Morgan Nissan in LMP2.
  • Scott Sharp will be one of four American drivers in the Tequila Patron ESM team. He’s in the team’s No. 30 Ligier JS P2 Honda, while Ed Brown, Johannes van Overbeek and race debutante Jon Fogarty share the No. 31 Ligier.
  • Team principal Tracy Krohn brings Krohn Racing up to LMP2 with the No. 40 Ligier JS P2 Judd.
  • South African-born Mark Patterson races under U.S. nationality and shares the No. 48 Murphy Prototypes Oreca 03R Nissan in LMP2.
  • Tommy Milner and Jordan Taylor, two of the three drivers in the No. 64 Corvette C7.R, are the only two Americans in GTE-Pro. The delightfully quirky Taylor (pictured above) comes to Le Mans sans mullet this year.
  • Ben Keating and Marc Miller fly the flag for the U.S.A. in the red, white and blue No. 53 ViperExchange.com SRT Viper GTS-R for Riley Motorsports-TI Automotive.
  • Peter Ashley Mann will be in the No. 61 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia.
  • Scuderia Corsa has an all-American lineup of race debutantes Bill Sweedler, Townsend Bell and Jeff Segal in the No. 62 Ferrari F458 Italia.
  • Michael Avenatti will make his Le Mans race debut in the No. 66 JMW Motorsport Ferrari F458 Italia that he’ll share with Kuba Giermaziak and Abdulaziz Al Faisal.
  • Patrick Dempsey and Patrick Long are together for the third straight year in the No. 77 Dempsey Racing-Proton Porsche 911 RSR.