De Silvestro confirmed at Andretti for Formula E finale


IndyCar driver Simona de Silvestro will make her debut in the FIA Formula E series at the finale of its inaugural season in London at the end of the month.

De Silvestro completed a show-run using a Formula E car in Switzerland earlier this year, and expressed her desire to compete in the series one day once her schedule allowed.

Given that the Swiss racer is without a drive for the time being, an opportunity has arisen with the Andretti Formula E team for de Silvestro to race alongside Jean-Eric Vergne at the London ePrix.

Andretti FE has fielded a number of drivers so far this season, with IndyCar driver Justin Wilson in Moscow, taking over from Scott Speed who had held the seat before him.

De Silvestro raced in the opening two rounds of the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series with Andretti, finishing fourth in Louisiana. She also took part in the Indianapolis 500, finishing 19th overall.

Andretti will not be the only team making a change to its line-up for the final double-header of the season. Amlin Aguri will need to find a replacement driver for Antonio Felix da Costa due to a clash with a race in the DTM championship, whilst Vitantonio Liuzzi is unable to race with Trulli thanks to a prior racing commitment.

The London ePrix is set to draw the curtain on the inaugural season of the FIA Formula E championship, with four drivers still in contention to win the drivers’ title.

The two races are set to take place around the grounds of Battersea Park in central London, with the circuit being described by ePrix winner Jerome d’Ambrosio as “a big challenge”.

Keating stripped of Le Mans GTE-Am win; No. 68 Ganassi entry also disqualified


FIA stewards announced Monday that two Ford GT entries have been disqualified from this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans, including the GTE-Am class-winning No. 85 entry from privateer Keating Motorsports.

Also DQ’d was the factory No. 68 Chip Ganassi Racing entry of Joey Hand, Dirk Mueller and Sebastien Bourdais, which initially finished fourth in the GTE-Pro class.

Both entries were found in violation of fuel capacity regulations, with the No. 85 entry also failing to meet the minimum refueling time during pit stops.

The refueling system on the No. 85 entry, driven by Ben Keating, Jeroen Bleekemolen and Felipe Fraga, measured a time of 44.4 seconds during a stop, just shy of the minimum required time of 45 seconds.

As a result, the team was initially issued a 55.2-second post-race penalty by officials, which elevated the No. 56 Team Project 1 Porsche 911 RSR of Joerg Bergmeister, Patrick Lindsey, and Egidio Perfetti to the class win.

The time penalty was calculated by the difference in the refueling time (0.6 seconds) multiplied by the amount of pit stops made by the team (23), then multiplied by four.

The No. 85 entry was set to finish second in class, but then received an outright DQ after its fuel capacity was also revealed to be 0.1 liters above the maximum permitted capacity of 96 liters.

As for Ganassi’s No. 68 entry, it was found to have a fuel capacity of 97.83 liters, which is above the maximum allowed capacity of 97 liters for the GTE-Pro Fords.

The No. 67 Ford of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell, and Jonathan Bomarito subsequently moves up to fourth, and the No. 69 Ford of Scott Dixon, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook moves up to fifth.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter