GP2: Haryanto beats Vandoorne to Austria sprint race win


Campos Racing’s Rio Haryanto clinched his second victory of the 2015 GP2 Series season on Sunday in Austria after fending off championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne in the closing stages of the race.

Starting from second place on the grid, Haryanto seized the lead at the start after pole-sitter Nick Yelloly and American driver Alexander Rossi made contact at the first corner.

Rossi had been hoping to score his first win of the season from third place on the grid, but the incident meant that he could finish no higher than ninth at the end of the race.

Haryanto’s immediate threat was Russian Time’s Artem Markelov, who tried to pass the Indonesian driver for the lead of the race at half-distance, only to slide off into the gravel and drop back.

Vandoorne had continued his sensational start to the 2015 season by winning a fifth straight feature race on Saturday, and managed to fight his way up from P8 on the grid to assume second place after Markelov’s mistake.

The Belgian driver began to apply pressure to Haryanto, keen on scoring his first double-win weekend in GP2, and remained within one second in the closing stages of the race.

However, he was unable to make a pass, allowing Haryanto to cross the line and claim his second win of the 2015 GP2 Series season following his success in Bahrain two months ago.

Vandoorne’s ART Grand Prix teammate Nobuharu Matsushita claimed his first podium finish in GP2 by finishing third, beating Rapax driver Sergey Sirotkin in fourth place.

Russian Time’s Mitch Evans secured fifth place ahead of DAMS driver Pierre Gasly and Racing Engineering’s Jordan King, whilst Markelov eventually finished eighth following his error when trying to take the lead.

The GP2 Series resumes in two weeks’ time at Silverstone in support of the British Grand Prix.

NEOM McLaren Formula E announces Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast for 2023 season

McLaren Formula E Hughes
McLaren Racing

Doubling down on their commitment to electric auto sports, McLaren Racing announced Jake Hughes will join Rene Rast to compete in the 2023 Formula E Series (FE), which completes their driver lineup.

The NEOM McLaren FE team was formed by the acquisition of the Mercedes-EQ Formula E team that won the 2021 and 2022 championships with Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries behind the wheel.

“Today’s announcement feels like a long time coming,” said Ian James, managing director of NEOM McLaren Electric Racing in a release. “Since May this year, when we first announced McLaren Racing’s entry into Formula E, we have been working tirelessly to get in place the best possible team and structure for sustainable success.

“On the one hand, we have been working on the retention of the amazing talent that already was in place before going into the transitional phase. I’m proud to say I think we’ve done a great job on that front.

“On the other hand, we have been focusing on putting in place new processes and new talent – and the latter includes the drivers.”

The driver lineup clasps the two hands together.

Hughes brings 10 years racing experience in single seater cars, including a role with the acquired Mercedes-EQ team as a reserve and development driver for the past two seasons. He is the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 champion and has multiple wins in Formula 2, including two in 2020.

Announced in August, Rast joins the team after earning two podium finishes and six top-fives in 22 career Formula E starts for Audi Sport ABT before returning to the DTM Series last year. Rast’s best finish in Formula E came in the Puebla E Prix when he finished second to teammate Lucas di Grassi by less than a half second.

McLaren’s commitment to Formula E comes one year after they entered the Extreme E rally series in 2022 with Tanner Foust and Emma Gilmour in the driver lineup. After a modest start to the season, the McLaren XE drivers crossed the finish line first in Round 4 in Chile, but were assessed a time penalty that dropped them to fifth. Last week in the season finale in Uruguay, they held onto a hard-earned second place finish.