Starting grid for the 2015 Austrian Grand Prix


After spending much of Friday lamenting a lack of rhythm, Lewis Hamilton bounced back on Saturday at the Red Bull Ring by capturing pole position for the Austrian Grand Prix.

Hamilton shot to the top of the timesheets during his second flying lap of Q3, but appeared to have blown his chance of starting from first place on the grid when he spun at the end of the session.

However, Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg surprisingly made the same error, sliding off the track at the final corner to scupper his own hopes of a second pole of the season.

The end result was that Hamilton had pole position number 45 of his career ahead of Rosberg, whilst Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finished as the best of the rest in third place.

You can read our full report of qualifying here.

The biggest talking point after the session was the variety of grid penalties that needed to be applied on what has been a busy weekend for the FIA race stewards.


Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo were both handed a ten-place grid drop for making changes to their power unit. Kvyat drops from P8 to P18, but gains three positions thanks to other penalties being applied after his. As a result, he will start the Austrian Grand Prix from 15th place.

Ricciardo qualified 14th on Saturday, so can only theoretically take six places of his penalty to drop to P20. As he cannot serve all of his sanction, he will enter the race with a five-second time penalty to his name, and, like Kvyat, gains places thanks to McLaren’s penalties.

Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button incurred the biggest penalties – 25 places – following a variety of changes that were made to their cars. Both will therefore start from the back row: Alonso in P19 with a drive-through penalty to serve; Button in P20 with a stop/go penalty.


1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
3. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
4. Felipe Massa Williams
5. Nico Hulkenberg Force India
6. Valtteri Bottas Williams
7. Max Verstappen Toro Rosso
8. Felipe Nasr Sauber
9. Romain Grosjean Lotus
10. Pastor Maldonado Lotus
11. Marcus Ericsson Sauber
12. Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso
13. Sergio Perez Force India
14. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
15. Daniil Kvyat Red Bull
16. Roberto Merhi Manor
17. Will Stevens Manor
18. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
19. Fernando Alonso McLaren
20. Jenson Button McLaren

The Austrian Grand Prix is live from 7:30am ET on Sunday on NBCSN and Live Extra.