Milwaukee IndyFest weekend schedule released; IndyCar to qualify, race same day

1 Comment

The Verizon IndyCar Series heads into a stretch of three consecutive oval races at three different sizes of ovals the next month, from the 2-mile Auto Club Speedway to the 0.875-mile Iowa Speedway.

Sandwiched in-between is a stop at the oldest track on the circuit, the Milwaukee Mile on July 12, and the race will have a unique schedule this year that somewhat mirrors a schedule you’d see on a doubleheader race weekend.

The race’s full name is the ABC Supply Co. Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest Presented by the Metro Milwaukee Honda Dealers, but often shortened to Milwaukee IndyFest.

With the Harry Miller Club vintage race occurring earlier in the weekend, actual track time for both IndyCar and the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires is reduced on Saturday. Both series have one practice apiece on Saturday, and Indy Lights qualifies.

On Sunday, the schedule intensifies. IndyCar has its second practice (9:15-10:00 a.m. CT and local time), qualifying (12:30-1:30 p.m. CT) and the race (4:35 p.m. CT green flag, after live race coverage starts 4:00 p.m. CT and 5:00 p.m. ET on NBCSN) all in the same day.

It will present a thrash for the teams, as Milwaukee adjusts to its third different date in as many years (mid-June in 2013, mid-August last year and now mid-July this year).

View the full weekend schedule here.