IndyCar: Bid to tie/break record for most wins by different drivers in season slipping away

1 Comment

After tying the mark last season, the chances of again tying or breaking the Verizon IndyCar Series record for wins by the most different number of drivers in a single season (11) are quickly evaporating.

Ten races have already been contested, with Saturday’s MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif., marking the 11th race of the 16-race season.

So far, there have been seven different winners in 2015.

In the first 10 IndyCar races, there have been three drivers who have won twice: Juan Pablo Montoya (St. Petersburg, Indianapolis 500), Scott Dixon (Long Beach, Texas) and Josef Newgarden (Birmingham, Toronto).

Four other drivers have single race wins between them: James Hinchcliffe (New Orleans), Will Power (Grand Prix of Indianapolis), Carlos Munoz (Belle Isle-1) and Sebastien Bourdais (Belle Isle-2).

In 2014, there were a record-tying 11 different race winners.

With six races remaining on the 16-race IndyCar schedule, it’s going to be tough to see four additional drivers that have been winless thus far this season to step forward and tie that mark.

And given that this is only the third oval race this season – with three more still to go – Dixon and Montoya appear to be the early favorites for Saturday afternoon’s event in SoCal.

Follow @JerryBonkowski

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.