Report: Roger Penske intends to keep his ‘four aces’ in IndyCar


The 2015 season is the first time Roger Penske has captained four teams on the IndyCar circuit.

And it appears it will be full steam ahead with four teams going forward.

According to the Indianapolis Star’s Curt Cavin, Penske is committed to retaining four drivers/teams: defending IndyCar champ Will Power, Helio Castroneves, Juan Pablo Montoya and Simon Pagenaud.

“When you’ve got those four guys — four aces — why would you give them up?” Penske told Cavin this past weekend at Auto Club Speedway. “We’re committed (to them).”

Montoya continues to lead the series, with Power currently second and Castroneves fifth.

Pagenaud is ranked tenth, but has not had the results to back up his qualifying in his first season with Team Penske.

But that doesn’t bother the boss.

“(Pagenaud’s) really helped us out; been great for us,” Penske told Cavin. “He brings a lot. We couldn’t be happier with him. The results will come.”

Through the first 11 races, Montoya has won two races and Power one. Castroneves and Pagenaud are winless.

Follow @JerryBonkowski