GP2: Sirotkin claims maiden win as Rossi storms to second place at Silverstone

Leave a comment

Sergey Sirotkin claimed his maiden victory in the GP2 Series on Saturday at Silverstone after dominating the feature race from start to finish.

The former Sauber reserve driver lost the lead at the start of the race to Status Grand Prix driver Richie Stanaway, but was able to recover the position on lap four after a safety car period.

From there, Sirotkin remained in complete control of the race, finishing 5.9 seconds clear of American driver Alexander Rossi in second place.

Rossi had been gunning for a poignant victory at Silverstone on 4th of July, but was swarmed at the start by Stoffel Vandoorne and Nobuharu Matsushita, causing him to drop down to sixth place.

However, the American driver managed to pick up a place when Matsushita retired before producing two sensational passes on Vandoorne and Stanaway to assume second position.

Although he was unable to catch Sirotkin before the end of the race, the result still saw Rossi make inroads on Vandoorne’s lead at the top of the drivers’ championship. However, with the Belgian finishing third, the gap is still a sizeable 73 points.

This was the first feature race since Russia last year – 265 days ago – that was not won by Vandoorne, ending a record-breaking streak of victories from the ART Grand Prix driver.

DAMS teammates Pierre Gasly and Alex Lynn both put in solid displays to finish fourth and fifth respectively, buthere was drama on the final lap of the race at Silverstone as Jordan King and Arthur Pic came to blows when fighting over sixth place.

King remained in front heading into the final corner, only for Pic to spin him around and force the Briton out of the race. Pic continued on track to cross the line in sixth place, but he is expected to lose the position when the stewards give their verdict on the clash.

Raffaele Marciello finished seventh for Trident ahead of Nick Yelloly, but both will gain a position if Pic is penalized. Oliver Rowland crossed the line in ninth place on his GP2 debut, and may well start tomorrow’s race from reverse grid pole should he be promoted into P8.


As expected, Arthur Pic was handed a post-race penalty in the form of a drive-through. The stewards added 20 seconds onto his time, dropping him to 14th in the final classification.

Oliver Rowland was also penalized after the stewards found that he had regularly exceeded track limits across the course of the race. This result in a five second time penalty, dropping him to P10.

As a result, Rio Haryanto will start from reverse grid pole on Sunday in the sprint race.

You can watch full highlights of the GP2 races on NBCSN at 2:30pm ET on Sunday.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold