Coyne drivers Mann, Vautier set to continue in Milwaukee, Iowa

1 Comment

Dale Coyne Racing will continue with Pippa Mann and Tristan Vautier in the team’s No. 18 and 19 Hondas for the next two Verizon IndyCar Series short oval races at the Milwaukee Mile and Iowa Speedway.

This will mark Mann’s first Milwaukee and Iowa starts in an IndyCar, although she has raced at both of them in the Indy Lights series (2009 and 2010, respectively) and finished in the top-10 at both circuits.

This will bring Mann’s season total of starts to five, after racing the first three oval races of the year at Indianapolis, Texas and Fontana.

It will also mark her most number of starts in a season since 2010, when she ran the full Indy Lights championship and finished fifth in the points standings.

Meanwhile Vautier finished 21st and 13th at the two events in 2013; he won and finished fourth at both circuits in Indy Lights in 2012. This will mark Vautier’s seventh and eighth starts this season.

This brings a degree of stability to the lineup, as well. This will mark the pairing’s third consecutive race together as teammates, which is the longest continuous streak of races for teammates for Coyne this year.

Previously, the most in a row had been two. Carlos Huertas and Francesco Dracone ran both Rounds 1 and 2, and at the Detroit doubleheader, Rodolfo Gonzalez and Vautier were in the car for both races.

Race 18 19 63
St. Pete Huertas Dracone
NOLA Huertas Dracone
Long Beach Moran/Daly Dracone
Barber Gonzalez Dracone
Indy GP Huertas Dracone
Indy 500 Quals. Huertas Vautier Mann
Indy 500 Race Vautier Davison Mann
Detroit 1/2 Gonzalez Vautier
Texas Mann Vautier
Toronto Gonzalez Vautier
Fontana Mann Vautier
Milwaukee Mann Vautier
Iowa Mann Vautier

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”