Team Aguri, ABT back to work ahead of second Formula E season; calendar due on Friday


The inaugural FIA Formula E campaign may only have ended 11 days ago, but the teams and drivers have already been getting back to work ahead of the start of season two.

Nelson Piquet Jr’s time off as champion is unlikely to last too long, particularly with many of his rivals getting back in their cars to prepare for the next ePrix.

Here are some notes and pieces of noteworthy news from the Formula E world.


The split between insurance company Amlin and Team Aguri was confirmed on the season two entry list last week, but life goes on for the latter.

Now scrubbed of the Amlin branding and with a brand new Twitter account – @TeamAguri – the team spent some time testing at Donington Park on Wednesday with Salvador Duran and former F1 driver Pedro de la Rosa, who remained open to a more permanent role in the series.

“At the moment this is just an exploration for both sides really,” the Spaniard said. “It is too early to say if I will race or not. I am here and I wanted to have a go and Team Aguri was good enough to let me try it.

“The team looks very attractive on the outside and they have a good engineering team and good plans for the future. As I said it is early days for me, but if I do it then it will be at 100 per cent.”

As for Amlin? Its popular Twitter account is still going (complete with the cat), but has signed off for summer.


Lucas di Grassi’s defeat in the season one championship race was not without controversy following what he called a “joke disqualification” at the Berlin ePrix.

However, he has remained upbeat and is already back to work with the new car at ABT, who have been joined by technology company Schaeffler for season two.


The calendar for the second Formula E season should be issued tomorrow following the meeting of the World Motor Sport Council in Mexico City, but a draft version is already doing the rounds.

As per, this is the proposed schedule:

1. Beijing, China (October 17)
2. Putrajaya, Malaysia (November 21)
3. Punta Del Este, Uruguay (December 12)
4. Buenos Aires, Argentina (February)
5. Mexico City, Mexico (February)
6. TBA (March)
7. Long Beach, USA (April)
8. Paris, France (April 24)
9. Berlin, Germany (May 21)
10. Moscow, Russia (June 11)
11. Battersea Park, London (TBA)

The round in Mexico City is set to be held on a version of the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez that will host the Formula 1 Mexican Grand Prix later this year. The other new round on the calendar is Paris, which replaces Monaco.

The Miami ePrix has also been omitted from this draft calendar. According to Sports Business Daily, event promoter Andretti Sports Marketing declined to comment when approached.

The date of the London ePrix appears to be dependent on when the British Grand Prix will take place, but will once again be held at Battersea Park, which MotorSportsTalk understands has a five year contract to host a Formula E race. It will once again be a double header finale.

IndyCar releases schedule for 2023 season

IndyCar schedule 2023
Douglas Stringer/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The NTT IndyCar Series’ 2023 schedule will feature the same number of races and tracks as this season with some minor reshuffling of dates.

IndyCar will open the 2023 season March 5 on the streets of St. Petersburg, Florida, and will conclude Sept. 10 at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in Monterey, California. The 107th Indy 500 will take place May 28 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The 17-race schedule will conclude with a stretch of eight races in the final nine weeks.

“The NTT IndyCar Series is on an impactful upward trajectory, making progress at a pace that befits our thrilling style of competition,” Penske Entertainment Corp. president and CEO Mark Miles said in a release. “The 2023 season provides an opportunity to further build on this trend, bringing our sport and its stars to more markets and households and reaching new consumers across the globe.”

There will be 15 events on NBC: 13 races (including six of the final seven) plus Indy 500 qualifying May 20-21. There also are three races on USA Network and the Toronto race exclusively on Peacock. All races on NBC and USA also will have live simulstreams on Peacock.

In partnership with NBC Sports, the 2022 IndyCar season was the most-watched in six years and the most-watched across NBC Sports on record. The 2022 season also was the most streamed season on record.

“We’re very excited for our 2023 NTT IndyCar Series schedule and to build on this past season’s viewership milestones,” NBC Sports vice president of programming Mike Perman said in a release. “In providing comprehensive coverage across NBC, Peacock and USA Network, NBC Sports is once again looking forward to telling the stories of these world-class drivers and this compelling series.”

Notable elements on the 2023 schedule:

–There will be the same balance of seven road course races, five street courses and five ovals.

–St. Pete will be the season opener for the 13th time.

–The Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix will move from Belle Isle to the streets of downtown.

–The NASCAR doubleheader weekend at the IMS road course will shift to mid-August.

–The World Wide Technology Raceway event will move from Saturday to Sunday.

Start times for the 2023 events will be announced at a later date.

Here’s the 2023 IndyCar schedule:

Date Race/Track Network/Platform
Sun., March 5 Streets of St. Petersburg NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 2 Texas Motor Speedway NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 16 Streets of Long Beach NBC, Peacock
Sun., April 30 Barber Motorsports Park NBC, Peacock
Sat., May 13 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) NBC, Peacock
Sun., May 28 The 107th Indianapolis 500 NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 4 Streets of Detroit NBC, Peacock
Sun., June 18 Road America USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 2 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course USA Network, Peacock
Sun., July 16 Streets of Toronto Peacock
Sat., July 22 Iowa Speedway – Race 1 NBC, Peacock
Sun., July 23 Iowa Speedway – Race 2 NBC, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 6 Streets of Nashville NBC, Peacock
Sat., Aug. 12 Indianapolis Motor Speedway (Road Course) USA Network, Peacock
Sun., Aug. 27 World Wide Technology Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 3 Portland International Raceway NBC, Peacock
Sun., Sept. 10 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca NBC, Peacock

*dates and networks/platforms are subject to change