Newgarden quickest in opening Milwaukee practice

1 Comment

Josef Newgarden drew first blood in Milwaukee by finishing fastest in the opening practice session for the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 on Saturday.

Newgarden posted a fastest lap time of 21.5415 seconds to finish ahead of Penske’s Simon Pagenaud at the top of the timesheets, recording an average speed of 169.626.

Ganassi’s Tony Kanaan led for much of the session after posting a quick time early on with an average speed of 167.702 mph.

However, as conditions continued to improve at the Milwaukee Mile and the track rubbered in, drivers managed to find more and more time, causing a flurry of changes in the timesheets late on.

Penske remained rather quiet for much of the session before Simon Pagenaud jumped up into second place in the final five minutes, finishing two-hundredths of a second short of Newgarden at the top.

Takuma Sato managed to produce a number of strong laps late on to secure third place in practice, finishing ahead of Fontana winner Graham Rahal in fourth.

Kanaan’s early lap was good enough for fifth place at the end of the session ahead of Ganassi teammate Scott Dixon, who ended up sixth in the re-liveried no. 9 car.

Three-time Milwaukee winner Ryan Hunter-Reay showed some good pace on Saturday evening at The Mile to finish seventh ahead of Helio Castroneves. James Jakes and Will Power rounded out the top ten.

The session was without much drama or notable incident, with just two yellow flag periods being required: firstly for a cut tire, then for debris on the track.

Milwaukee rookie Stefano Coletti turned the most laps during the 75-minute session on Saturday, finishing just two shy of a century as the Monegasque racer got to grips with the track.

The drivers and teams will now be turning their attention to tomorrow’s congested programme, starting with practice at 9:15am CT (10:15am ET).

For full broadcasting information ahead of the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250, click here.

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”