What to watch for: IndyCar at Milwaukee (5 p.m. ET, NBCSN and Live Extra)


MILWAUKEE – A historic venue is set to host a hectic battle as the Verizon IndyCar Series has its 12th race of the season, and fourth on an oval, in 2015 with today’s ABC Supply Co. Wisconsin 250 at Milwaukee IndyFest presented by the Metro Milwaukee Honda Dealers.

The primarily one-day event (there was first practice on Saturday) will undoubtedly be one of the tougher tests of the season for crews. If you don’t roll off strong, it could be a long day.

Second practice and qualifying are in the books and here is what to watch for heading into today’s 250-lap race:


These are the single biggest keys to success at the one-mile oval, even more than pit stops. How well your car manages traffic, whether it can go on another line besides the standard groove through Turns 1 and 2, then 3 and 4, and how you hold up when being lapped makes or breaks your race.

Will Power won as much with traffic domination as with outright pace here last year, while veterans Juan Pablo Montoya and Tony Kanaan maligned some of the drivers who were less than agreeable when getting lapped.

The heat has also been a talking point today. How will cars handle the warmer than expected temperatures.


The 2012 and 2013 races in Milwaukee were damn near perfect for Andretti Autosport. The sister Andretti Sports Marketing company promoted the race (as they do this year), and Ryan Hunter-Reay won both races.

This year is a crapshoot because Andretti’s team has not been great on setup, but been better in recent races. Carlos Munoz has won a race while Marco Andretti and Hunter-Reay haven’t; both of those drivers though have good histories at Milwaukee.

There is one wild card though in the team, and that’s the fourth driver in Justin Wilson, back for the first time since the Indianapolis 500. Here’s more there:


“Bad Ass” is back. The tall, friendly giant that is Justin Wilson makes a most welcome return for the first of the five final races. He was 16th in first practice on Saturday but was poised to make improvements on Sunday.

Wilson, a veteran, is one of the smartest drivers in terms of finding the balance between having too much downforce and not enough for a race like Milwaukee. He may not win it but he adds an interesting variable to the race.


This race marks the first short oval race with the new road course/short oval aero kits. It will be interesting to see who experiments with different downforce levels, or whether all 24 drivers will run the same specifications. It’s a high downforce circuit.


Graham Rahal added his name to the winner’s list at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, joining Montoya, Power, Munoz, Scott Dixon, Josef Newgarden, Sebastien Bourdais and James Hinchcliffe.

So that’s your list of winners and as you can imagine anyone else not in that list – Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Simon Pagenaud and more among them – would make it nine in 12 this season.

Montoya leads Power by 46 points going into the race but we’ll see whether the Aussie can close that down.

IndyCar results, points after Detroit Grand Prix


DETROIT — Alex Palou topped the results of an NTT IndyCar Series race for the second time this season, extending his championship points lead with his victory in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver, who also won the GMR Grand Prix (and the Indy 500 pole position) last month, holds a 51-point lead over teammate Marcus Ericsson (ninth at Detroit) through seven of 17 races this season.

Ganassi, which placed all four of its drivers in the top 10 at Detroit, has three of the top four in the championship standings with Scott Dixon ranked fourth after a fourth at Detroit.

FLAVOR FLAV POWERS UP: Iconic rapper hangs out with Team Penske

Indy 500 winner Josef Newgarden is third in the standings after taking a 10th at Detroit. Pato O’Ward slipped to fifth in the points after crashing and finishing 26th

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:


Click here for the official box score from the 100-lap race on a nine-turn, 1.645-mile street course in downtown Detroit.

Lap leader summary

Full lap chart

Best section times

Full section data

Event summary

Pit stop summary

Here is the finishing order in the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out (if any):

1. (1) Alex Palou, Honda, 100, Running
2. (7) Will Power, Chevrolet, 100, Running
3. (9) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 100, Running
4. (4) Scott Dixon, Honda, 100, Running
5. (13) Alexander Rossi, Chevrolet, 100, Running
6. (12) Kyle Kirkwood, Honda, 100, Running
7. (2) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 100, Running
8. (11) Marcus Armstrong, Honda, 100, Running
9. (6) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 100, Running
10. (5) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 100, Running
11. (24) Colton Herta, Honda, 100, Running
12. (17) Devlin DeFrancesco, Honda, 100, Running
13. (8) Simon Pagenaud, Honda, 100, Running
14. (20) Agustin Canapino, Chevrolet, 100, Running
15. (15) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 100, Running
16. (18) Christian Lundgaard, Honda, 100, Running
17. (25) Jack Harvey, Honda, 100, Running
18. (14) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 100, Running
19. (23) Helio Castroneves, Honda, 100, Running
20. (19) Benjamin Pedersen, Chevrolet, 97, Running
21. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Chevrolet, 97, Running
22. (26) Sting Ray Robb, Honda, 97, Running
23. (21) David Malukas, Honda, 85, Contact
24. (3) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Contact
25. (27) Graham Rahal, Honda, 50, Contact
26. (10) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 41, Contact
27. (16) Callum Ilott, Chevrolet, 1, Contact

Winner’s average speed: 80.922 mph; Time of Race: 02:01:58.1171; Margin of victory: 1.1843 seconds; Cautions: 7 for 32 laps; Lead changes: 10 among seven drivers. Lap Leaders: Palou 1-28; Power 29-33; O’Ward 34; Palou 35-55; Power 56-64; Palou 65; Rossi 66; Newgarden 67-68; Kirkwood 69; Ericsson 70-76; Palou 77-100.


Click here for the points tally in the race.

Here are the points standings after the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix:



Engine manufacturers

Pit stop performance

Top 10 in points: Palou 273, Ericsson 222, Newgarden 203, Dixon 194, O’Ward 191, Rossi 176, McLaughlin 175, Power 172, Herta 149, Rosenqvist 148.

Rest of the standings: Grosjean 145, Kirkwood 142, Lundgaard 136, Ilott 116, VeeKay 108, Ferrucci 105, Armstrong 101, Rahal 99, Malukas 91, Daly 88, DeFrancesco 81, Castroneves 80, Harvey 78, Canapino 77, Pagenaud 72, Pedersen 61, Robb 55, Takuma Sato 37, Ed Carpenter 27, Ryan Hunter-Reay 20, Tony Kanaan 18, Marco Andretti 13, RC Enerson 5, Katherine Legge 5.

Next race: IndyCar will head to Road America for the Sonsio Grand Prix, which will take place June 18 with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock.