Here are your NBCSN TV times for IndyCar at Iowa Speedway this weekend

Leave a comment

Similar to Milwaukee last weekend, the Verizon IndyCar Series will have qualifying and the race on the same day for this weekend’s Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway, Round 13 of the season.

Qualifying will occur from 3 to 4 p.m. CT and local time and will air on NBCSN at 6:45 p.m. ET (5:45 p.m. CT) immediately following the conclusion of NASCAR Xfinity Series race coverage from New Hampshire.

It leads straight into live race coverage at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, from the Iowa Speedway for the fourth-to-last race of the season.

NBC Sports Group lead IndyCar play-by-play voice Leigh Diffey will call the Iowa Corn Indy 300, alongside analysts Paul Tracy and Townsend Bell. Robin Miller, Jon Beekhuis, Kevin Lee and Katie Hargitt will handle pit reporting duties.

The Indy Lights race will air on Monday night, July 20, at 11 p.m. ET on NBCSN. Kevin Lee, Anders Krohn and Katie Hargitt will have the call there, with Lee and Krohn in the booth and Hargitt on pit road.

This race at Iowa comes after back-to-back races north of 500,000 viewers on NBCSN at Fontana and Milwaukee.

NBCSN’s Sunday afternoon Verizon IndyCar Series telecast from Milwaukee averaged 532,000 viewers, making it the network’s most-watched IndyCar race since Sept. 4, 2011 (591,000, Baltimore). It was also up 66 percent vs. last year’s Milwaukee race (320,000 viewers).

This was the second consecutive telecast in which NBCSN posted its best IndyCar viewership since the 2011 Baltimore race (Fontana, June 27, 512,000 viewers).

Date Program Time (ET) Network
 Sat., July 18 IndyCar Iowa Indy Corn 300 – Qualifying* 6:45 p.m. NBCSN
IndyCar Iowa Indy Corn 300 8 p.m. NBCSN
 Mon., July 20 IndyCar Iowa Indy Corn 300 (Encore) 6 p.m. NBCSN
Indy Lights – Iowa 11 p.m. NBCSN

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”