WATCH LIVE: Second of two Red Bull GRC races from Detroit, 4:30 p.m. ET on NBC

Leave a comment

The Red Bull Global Rallycross heads to Detroit for the first time this weekend, with a doubleheader round.

The second of two races this weekend, Round 6 of the season, airs LIVE at 4:30 p.m. ET on NBC and NBC Sports Live Extra. This race also marks the halfway point of the year.

Toby Moody and Anders Krohn will have the call, with Kristen Kenney and Will Christien in the pits.

Ken Block has won three of the series’ first five races, including Saturday’s Round 5, and the Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta ST driver currently leads the series championship.

Again, that’s the second of two Red Bull GRC races from Detroit today, Sunday, LIVE at 4:30 p.m. ET.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.