Dixon crushes lap record to score pole in Mid-Ohio (VIDEO)

1 Comment

LEXINGTON, Ohio – Scott Dixon obliterated the previous track record, with a new mark of 1:04.5814 around the 2.258-mile Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course to score the Verizon P1 Award for the Honda Indy 200.

This result is Dixon’s second pole position of the Verizon IndyCar Series season (Indianapolis 500).

Dixon, who drove the No. 9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, new time replaces the old lap time of 1:05.347 set by both Gil de Ferran and Dario Franchitti.

Will Power starts second, still a good result for Team Penske although it marks the first time that Penske has not been on the pole in nine road or street races this season.

Sebastien Bourdais and Helio Castroneves are on Row 2, with Americans Josef Newgarden and Charlie Kimball completing the Firestone Fast Six.


Defending polesitter Sebastien Bourdais of KVSH Racing, led the opening round of qualifying ahead of CFH Racing teammates Luca Filippi and Josef Newgarden, then Will Power, Tony Kanaan and Marco Andretti, the only Honda in Q1, Group 1 to advance. Bourdais’ time of 1:05.3377 was a new track record, but only briefly.

Knocked out were local favorite Graham Rahal, as well as Simon Pagenaud, James Jakes, Sage Karam, Gabby Chaves and Carlos Munoz.

Rahal blamed Karam for getting in the way, preventing him from advancing.

“Sage driving with his head up you know where,” Rahal said, via the in-house video feed.

Here was a tweet Rahal put out: “Pretty ticked. That lap was up over .4 before Sage blocked us. Anyways doesnt matter we will start 13th. Car felt very good. Attack tomorrow.”

Karam responded thusly on Twitter, “Interesting take from @GrahamRahal if I blocked you race control would’ve penalized. I gave you racing line. Cheers.”


A less eventful Q2 saw Scott Dixon eclipse Bourdais’ brief new track record, with a crazy good lap of 1:04.8950.

Dixon led Charlie Kimball, points leader Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Helio Castroneves and Jack Hawksworth.

Eliminated were Justin Wilson, Takuma Sato ahead of his 100th series start, Stefano Coletti, Ryan Briscoe and the Dale Coyne Racing teammates.


The track records kept dropping in Q2. Dixon had a 1:04.7780 but his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Kimball eclipsed it right at the end of the session, at 1:04.7637.

Power was third with Bourdais, Newgarden and Castroneves completing an all-Chevrolet Firestone Fast Six at the Honda-sponsored race.

Hunter-Reay was not even three tenths off Kimball at 1:05.0455, but was eliminated. Kanaan was eighth ahead of Filippi, Montoya, Hawksworth and Andretti.


Dixon dropped a 1:04.6588, then bettered it with 1:04.5814 on his final lap to score the pole.

With only Power and Castroneves in the Fast Six, it marks the first time all year only two of the four Penskes made it to the Fast Six.


LEXINGTON, Ohio – Qualifying Saturday for the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Verizon IndyCar Series event on the 2.258-mile(s) Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, with qualifying position, car number in parentheses, driver, chassis-engine, time and speed in parentheses:

1.  (9) Scott Dixon, Chevrolet, 01:04.5814 (125.869)
2.  (1) Will Power, Chevrolet, 01:04.6782 (125.681)
3.  (11) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 01:04.9965 (125.065)
4.  (3) Helio Castroneves, Chevrolet, 01:05.0625 (124.938)
5.  (67) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 01:05.0728 (124.919)
6.  (83) Charlie Kimball, Chevrolet, 01:05.0784 (124.908)
7.  (28) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 01:05.0455 (124.971)
8.  (10) Tony Kanaan, Chevrolet, 01:05.0647 (124.934)
9.  (20) Luca Filippi, Chevrolet, 01:05.1616 (124.748)
10.  (2) Juan Pablo Montoya, Chevrolet, 01:05.2081 (124.659)
11.  (41) Jack Hawksworth, Honda, 01:05.2291 (124.619)
12.  (27) Marco Andretti, Honda, 01:05.3931 (124.307)
13.  (15) Graham Rahal, Honda, 01:05.9650 (123.229)
14.  (25) Justin Wilson, Honda, 01:05.5886 (123.936)
15.  (22) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 01:05.9877 (123.187)
16.  (14) Takuma Sato, Honda, 01:05.5933 (123.927)
17.  (7) James Jakes, Honda, 01:06.0671 (123.039)
18.  (4) Stefano Coletti, Chevrolet, 01:05.6204 (123.876)
19.  (8) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, 01:06.0688 (123.035)
20.  (5) Ryan Briscoe, Honda, 01:05.7053 (123.716)
21.  (98) Gabby Chaves, Honda, 01:06.2195 (122.755)
22.  (18) Rodolfo Gonzalez, Honda, 01:05.9698 (123.220)
23.  (26) Carlos Munoz, Honda, 01:06.9891 (121.345)
24.  (19) Tristan Vautier, Honda, 01:06.0814 (123.012)