WATCH LIVE: Honda Indy 200 qualifying at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN, Live Extra


LEXINGTON, Ohio – One of the most important qualifying sessions of the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season occurs today, and will air live on NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra at 3 p.m. ET and local time from the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Qualifying for the Honda Indy 200 will see IndyCar back to the road and street course method of qualifying, which features three rounds of knockout qualifying culminating with the Firestone Fast Six session, at which point the Verizon P1 Award winner (pole position) will be determined.

Additionally, a track record could fall. The current official mark is 1:05.347, set by Dario Franchitti and Gil de Ferran, but it was eclipsed in third practice by Scott Dixon at 1:05.1253.

Qualifying comes right after a new INDYCAR Chronicles with Ryan Hunter-Reay at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN.

Leigh Diffey, Townsend Bell and David Hobbs will be in the booth while Jon Beekhuis, Kevin Lee, Katie Hargitt and Robin Miller will be on pit road.

Team Penske has taken the pole position in each of the previous eight road and street course qualifying sessions this season, although both NOLA Motorsports Park and Detroit race two saw qualifying canceled due to weather.

In the other six races, Will Power has four poles and Helio Castroneves two. Juan Pablo Montoya has the two poles in the rainout sessions.

Even more incredibly, Team Penske has managed to secure 21 of a possible 24 Fast Six appearances this year with its four drivers. The only three times one of its drivers missed the Fast Six was Power at Long Beach, Montoya at Barber and Castroneves in Toronto; Simon Pagenaud has made the Fast Six in all six sessions this year.

Can anyone knock off the Penske contingent? Sebastien Bourdais is a two-time winner this year and the defending Mid-Ohio polesitter; meanwhile Scott Dixon carries his incredible record of five wins in the last eight races into Mid-Ohio this weekend.

Again, that’s IndyCar qualifying from Mid-Ohio LIVE at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN and NBC Sports Live Extra.