Brembo signs new agreement as IndyCar brake supplier

Leave a comment

Brembo will remain the exclusive brake supplier for the Verizon IndyCar Series for the 2016 season after signing a new agreement with the championship.

Brembo first became involved in IndyCar back in 1989 before taking up the mantle as the series’ sole brake supplier in 2012. The Italian company also works with teams racing in Formula 1 and MotoGP.

As the finer details concerning 2016 begin to fall into place ahead of this season’s finale at Sonoma in two weeks’ time, INDYCAR has confirmed that Brembo will continue in its role as brake supplier.

“Brembo North America will continue as the exclusive brake component supplier to the Verizon INDYCAR Series for the 2016 season, in an agreement announced today with INDYCAR,” a statement read.

“Brembo’s innovative braking system incorporates lightweight CER200 carbon-carbon rotors (324 mm x 30 mm), similar to rotors used in Formula One and the 24 Hours of Le Mans, and CCR400 carbon pads,” Dan Sandberg, president and CEO of Brembo North America, said.

“These long-lasting components are suitable for the variety of racing circuits on the INDYCAR schedule. We’re proud that INDYCAR has selected Brembo products and are looking forward to another great season.”

The 2016 season is due to start in St. Petersburg on March 13, two weeks earlier than in 2015.

March 29 in Motorsports History: Scott Dixon wins first race after reunification

Leave a comment

Reunited and it felt so good.

That’s what drivers likely thought before the 2008 IndyCar opener at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

For the first time since 1995, major-league open-wheel racing in the United States was under the banner of a sole sanctioning body as Champ Car and the Indy Racing Leauge had reunified just a month prior.

Scott Dixon celebrates after winning the 2008 IndyCar opener at Homestead. Photo: Jim Hines/IndyCar.

The first race after reunification also saw a reversal of fortunes for Scott Dixon, who won the race after losing the 2007 IRL championship in crushing fashion.

In the 2007 season finale at Chicagoland Speedway, Dixon ran out of fuel while leading on the final lap of the race. The race victory – and championship – went to Dixon’s future teammate, Dario Franchitti.

But the tides turned for Dixon nearly seven months later, and the Kiwi was able to win with the help of another driver’s misfortune.

Tony Kanaan was leading with seven laps remaining when E.J. Viso spun and made contact with Kanaan’s car. Kanaan remained on track through the caution period despite suffering obvious damage to his right front suspension.

On the final restart with three laps remaining, Dixon and others cars easily passed Kanaan’s wounded car on the outside. Dixon then maintained his lead through the checkered flag to win at Homestead for the second time in his career.

“I think Marco (Andretti) and T.K. probably had a little bit better cars today, but we came through with the win, and that’s what counts,” Dixon told ESPN after his 12th career victory.

Following his victory at Homestead, Dixon continued to redeem himself through the course of the 2008 season. In May, he won the Indianapolis 500 for the first (and so far only) time. Following Indy, he went on to win four more times in 2008 and won his second series championship.

Also on this date:

1998: Mika Hakkinen won the Grand Prix of Brazil, the first of eight victories in his first championship season.

2010: Will Power won the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, which was held on a Monday morning because of rain postponing the race on Sunday.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter