Trulli announces Duran for second Formula E season

Leave a comment

Trulli Formula E has announced that Salvador Duran will be racing for the team in the second FIA Formula E season, switching from Aguri.

Duran made his debut in the electric-powered championship at the Punta del Este ePrix last December and remained with Amlin Aguri for the remainder of the season, scoring 13 points from eight starts.

After testing with Team Aguri at Donington Park two weeks ago, the Mexican driver has now joined Jarno Trulli’s eponymous team for 2015/2016 season as the Italian’s replacement.

“I’m very happy to join the Trulli team and I’m super excited about the new season and Trulli’s new powertrain Motomatica JT-01,” Duran said.

“I’m hoping that we can be contending for the front positions and can’t wait to do my first test.”

The team is yet to debut its new car in pre-season testing, but is planning to get out on track for the final day of running at Donington Park on Tuesday with Duran and Vitantonio Liuzzi.

Liuzzi is yet to officially be confirmed by the team, but looks likely to retain his seat after racing in five rounds last year.

In other Formula E news, Robin Frijns and IndyCar driver Stefano Coletti are both due to test this week, running with Amlin Andretti and Team Aguri respectively.

F1: Fernando Alonso gets special livery for Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

McLaren Racing
Leave a comment

Fernando Alonso will sport a special livery for his final Grand Prix this weekend in Abu Dhabi.

Reflecting his blue, yellow and red paint scheme of his helmet colors, the car will pay tribute to his home region of Asturias in northern Spain.

“We’re incredibly pleased and proud to be able to race a special one-off livery for Fernando in Abu Dhabi this weekend,” McLaren CEO Zak Brown said on the team’s web site. “We want his last grand prix to feel special in every way, and this was just one of the ways we could reflect that.

“We worked closely and collaboratively with Fernando, and then with the FIA and Formula 1 to make the change for this one race, and they were all hugely supportive of the move.

The special livery will highlight the end of Alonso’s 18-year stint in Formula 1 – a career marked by 32 wins in 311 starts (a winning percentage of 10.3%).

This will be the first time since the 1986 Portuguese Grand Prix that McLaren has run a special paint scheme. That season, they sported a special yellow-branded car for Keke Rosberg.

“Hopefully, this will give Fernando’s fans a little something extra to look forward to at what is bound to be an especially emotional weekend.”