ABC Supply 500 post-event infractions, manufacturer championship points update

Leave a comment

INDYCAR announced on Wednesday the following post-event infractions and manufacturer championship points updates following the ABC Supply 500, which was held Aug. 23 at Pocono Raceway:

  • Verizon IndyCar Series driver Tristan Vautier (Dale Coyne Racing) was penalized for violating Rule 9.3.3 (avoidable contact) of the Verizon IndyCar Series rulebook. Vautier, who was placed on probation for the remainder of the season following the event at Auto Club Speedway on June 27, was penalized three points in the Verizon IndyCar Series drivers point standings, fined $10,000 and will not be able to practice for the first two hours of the Verizon IndyCar Series Promoter Test at Sonoma Raceway on Aug. 28.
  • The No. 2 Team Penske entry was fined $3,000 for violating Rule (pit safety violation: contact with equipment – air hose, third offense).
  • The No. 41 AJ Foyt Racing entry was fined $2,500 for violating Rule (hazardous condition: tire coming loose and causing a yellow flag).
  • The No. 26 Andretti Autosport entry was fined $500 for violating Rule (pit safety violation: contact with equipment – air hose).
  • Honda received a deduction of 20 manufacturer championship points for an engine that did not attain its life cycle during the ABC Supply 500 race weekend. According to Rule, 20 manufacturer points are deducted for an engine that fails to reach its 2,500-mile life cycle. The Honda engine on the No. 98 Bryan Herta Autosport entry did not reach its life cycle minimum before being changed out. Following the deduction, Chevrolet leads the manufacturer championship with 1,429 points; Honda has 1,083 points.

Members may contest the imposition of penalties pursuant to the procedures and timelines details in the review and appeal procedures of the Verizon IndyCar Series rulebook.

Andretti United team names drivers for inaugural Extreme E season

Extreme E drivers Andretti
Extreme E
Leave a comment

The Extreme E team formed by Andretti Autosport and United Autosports named Catie Munnings and Timmy Hansen as its drivers Monday for the series’ inaugural 2021 season.

Munnings is a successful veteran of rally series. Hansen is a past winner and champion in the World Rallycross Championship.

They both will race in the environmentally conscious electric SUV series that will hold events in five areas around the world that are threatened by climate change. Chip Ganassi Racing and six-time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton also are fielding cars in Extreme E, which will feature male and female co-drivers on every team.

Catie Munnings

“I’m so excited to join Andretti United Extreme E,” Munnings said in a release. ““I was really intrigued when I first heard about Extreme E, I just knew I had to be involved. The male / female racing partnership is a fantastic and exciting new concept. The season has incredible locations and the racing will be very exciting. It will be a new challenge for the teams and drivers, and I’m so thrilled to be working with such a strong team.

“The championship is a really innovative concept, it’s combining motorsport and science and will produce an important legacy in each race location. Bringing the platform that motorsport has in line with the awareness that the planet needs right now is awesome and a really important message.”

Timmy Hansen

Said Hansen: “Going into the Extreme E will be a new chapter in my career, one that I am extremely excited about. It is something brand new, not only for me, but the whole of motorsport. The format is something

we’ve never seen before. I’m also delighted to be able to carry the message of something bigger – talking about the environment and doing something good for the world – that’s something that really drives me. It’s going to be a big adventure in life to see these locations and I’m going to do my best in carrying this responsibility and hopefully making people aware of the challenges we have in the world, together with our passion for racing.”