INDYCAR confirms Chevrolet wins fourth straight Manufacturer’s Championship


SONOMA, Calif. – Four-for-four.

That’s what Chevrolet is in Manufacturer’s Championships since its return to the Verizon IndyCar Series ahead of the 2012 season.

The latest title was confirmed and announced, officially, just before today’s GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma season finale at Sonoma Raceway.

Honda put up a valiant fight this year but lacked the overall grunt, pace and performance of the Chevrolets of most of the season. A single Honda-powered driver, Graham Rahal, still has a shot to win the drivers’ championship versus five Chevrolet-powered drivers.

The release from INDYCAR is below:

For the fourth consecutive Verizon IndyCar Series season, Chevrolet has claimed the Manufacturers Championship.

Heading into today’s season finale, the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma, Chevrolet teams have won nine of the first 15 races and collected every available Verizon P1 Award for winning the pole position this season. No matter what transpires in today’s 85-lap race at Sonoma Raceway, Chevrolet has clinched the manufacturers award.

Chevrolet re-entered Indy car competition as an engine supplier in 2012 and has won the Manufacturer Championship every year since. This year, Chevrolet and fellow supplier Honda took on the additional role of developing and supplying aerodynamic bodywork components that attach to the Dallara IR-12 chassis used by all Verizon IndyCar Series teams.

“Our fourth consecutive Manufacturers Championship is the result of consistent preparation, teamwork and execution by our Chevrolet teams, drivers and technical partners,” said Jim Campbell, U.S. vice president of performance vehicles and motorsports for Chevrolet. “Together, we focused on delivering strong engine and aero performance all season long.”

Manufacturers earn points toward the championship at each race based on the positions of each’s top three finishers. They can earn bonus points for winning the Verizon P1 Award, leading the most laps and for each 2.2-liter, twin-turbocharged V-6 engine that reaches its 2,500-mile threshold. Points are reduced for engines that fail to reach the 2,500-mile minimum before being changed out.

“We’d like to congratulate Chevrolet on clinching the 2015 Manufacturers Championship and to thank Honda for its resilient competition throughout the season,” said Will Phillips, INDYCAR Vice President of Technology. “The Chevrolet IndyCar V6 has had a strong and consistent performance this season, which has been reflected by success on the racetrack in both race finishes and engine durability.

“We made adjustments to how points were scored in the Manufacturers Championship this year,” Phillips added, “which accurately reflected Chevy’s strong performance throughout the 2015 Verizon IndyCar Series season, highlighted by a win in the Indianapolis 500.”

Chevrolet’s nine race wins thus far have consisted of three by Team Penske (Juan Pablo Montoya two, Will Power one) and two each by CFH Racing (Josef Newgarden), Chip Ganassi Racing Teams (Scott Dixon) and KVSH Racing (Sebastien Bourdais). Team Penske collected 11 Verizon P1 Awards this season, Chip Ganassi Racing Teams earned two and CFH Racing one.

Of the six drivers mathematically eligible for the drivers’ championship, five are part of the Chevrolet team (Montoya, Power, Newgarden, Dixon and Helio Castroneves).