Porsche’s no. 17 car surges to maiden WEC victory in 6 Hours of Nürburgring


NÜRBURGRING – Porsche enjoyed a memorable homecoming as its no. 17 car surged to victory in the 6 Hours of Nürburgring on Sunday, heading up a one-two finish for the German marque.

For the first time in the history of the series, the FIA World Endurance Championship graced Germany this weekend for the fourth round of the 2015 season.

Running with a new high downforce package for the race, Porsche enjoyed the measure on rivals Audi in qualifying on Saturday before converting this into its first six-hour race win of the season.

Starting from pole position, the no. 18 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Marc Lieb, Neel Jani and Romain Dumas surged into an early lead as the sister no. 17 car fended off the two Audis behind.

However, when a fuel sensor failure caused the no. 18 drivers to use too much fuel, the stewards handed the car three stop and go penalties, ending its chances of an overall victory at the Nürburgring.

Luckily for Porsche, supreme stints from Brendon Hartley, Timo Bernhard and Mark Webber saw the no. 17 car take up the mantle and create a lap’s lead over the chasing Audi cars behind that lasted to the very end of the race.

The result marks the no. 17 crew’s first win in the WEC, beating their previous best result of second in this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans.

For Webber, the result is made all the more poignant by the fact that it came at the site of his first victory in F1. The Australian driver won the German Grand Prix for Red Bull at the Nürburgring back in 2009.

Despite being hit with three stop and go penalties, a titanic triple stint from Neel Jani saw the no. 18 car fight back to pass both of the Audi cars in the final round of pit stops and complete a Porsche one-two on Sunday.

The no. 7 Audi of Benoit Treluyer, Andre Lotterer and Marcel Fassler completed the podium in third place, but the trio saw their championship lead fall after a difficult race. Audi’s no. 8 finished fourth after a late swap of position, whilst Toyota’s no. 1 and no. 2 cars trundled home in P5 and P6, four laps down on the leaders.

In LMP2, KCMG followed up its Le Mans class victory by clinching its first six-hour win of the season on Sunday. The no. 47 car of Matthew Howson, Richard Bradley and Nick Tandy crossed the line one minute ahead of the no. 26 and no. 28 G-Drive cars which filled out the podium.

Porsche did not only enjoy home success in LMP1, though. In GTE Pro, the no. 91 and no. 92 Porsche 911 RSRs swept to a one-two finish in class. Richard Lietz and Michael Chrstiensen claimed their first class win of the season ahead of Frederic Makowiecki and Patrick Pilet in the no. 92 car, completing a near-perfect day for the German marque.

It was a day to forget to AF Corse in GTE Pro, though. Defending champions Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander suffered an early stoppage in the no. 51 car that effectively ended their race. Although they could get back out on track, they finished 30th overall. The no. 71 did salvage something for the Ferrari-backed team, finishing third ahead of the three Aston Martin Racing cars.

In GTE Am, SMP Racing bounced back from a poor start to claim its second straight class win with the no. 72 car of Victor Shatter, Andrea Bertolini and Aleksey Basov. The trio finished 40 seconds clear of the no. 98 Aston Martin Racing car, whilst the no. 83 AF Corse rounded out the podium.

The next round of the 2015 FIA WEC season takes place at the Circuit of The Americas in Austin, Texas, in three weeks’ time.

Provisional Indy Lights champion Oliver Askew ready for IndyCar ride

Road to Indy
Leave a comment

Provisional Indy Lights champion Oliver Askew has done nothing but dominate the 2019 season, winning seven of the 16 races run so far and finishing on the podium in all but two of those events.

Now all the 22-year-old Floridian needs to do to formally clinch the 2019 title is simply start the final two races of the season, both of which will be held this weekend at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

For Askew, his maiden Indy Lights season will likely be one he’ll never forget. 

“It’s been a dream come true,” Askew told NBC Sports. “Being with the championship-winning team from last year, we had a really good shot at winning it again for Andretti Autosport. It’s very rare that we show up to a track and struggle to find speed. 

“That’s a fantastic feeling, especially as a driver. That gave me a lot of confidence and hopes of holding the million dollar check at the end of the year. That was the goal going into it.”

This weekend, Askew will accomplish said goal. The championship will not only bring him a sense of pride, but also the opportunity of a lifetime. 

As an award for being crowned the Indy Lights champion, Askew will be awarded a scholarship that guarantees him entry into a minimum of three NTT IndyCar Series events next year – including the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500. 

Time will only tell which team Askew will race for in IndyCar next season, and whether or not Askew’s rookie campaign will be a full-time or part-time affair, but Askew’s performance during the last few seasons in the Road to Indy system has certainly drawn attention of IndyCar’s top team owners.

In August, Askew had the chance to drive an Indy car for the first time in his career during a test session at Portland International Raceway, driving the No. 9 PNC Bank Honda usually piloted by Scott Dixon.

“It was an opportunity with Chip Ganassi Racing that I was very fortunate to have,” Askew said. “I think with my experience in the past couple of years with Cape Motorsports and this year with Andretti Autosport, going into that test was very helpful.

“Going into the test, it was more of trying to treat it as just another day at the racetrack, when it really wasn’t. It was a fantastic opportunity for me – a great experience – and I hope I can take that into my rookie season next year in IndyCar.” 

The final two races of the 2019 Indy Lights season will take place this weekend on Saturday, September 21 at 6 p.m. ET and Sunday, September 22 at 12:05 p.m. ET. Both races will air live on NBC Sports Gold.

Follow Michael Eubanks on Twitter