GP2: Pierre Gasly claims first pole position at Monza

Leave a comment

DAMS’ driver Pierre Gasly scored his maiden pole position in the GP2 Series during Friday’s qualifying session at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza.

Gasly moved into GP2 at the beginning of 2015 following a successful year in Formula Renault 3.5 that saw him finish second to Carlos Sainz Jr. in the championship.

The Frenchman’s form so far this season in GP2 has been patchy, balancing seven non-scores with seven finishes in the points that include three podiums.

Now, Gasly will be in the running for his first win in the series after he stormed to pole position at Monza on Friday afternoon, edging out Russian Time driver Mitch Evans.

Gasly’s lap of 1:31.272 was enough to beat Evans by less than two-tenths of a second in the final classification as a late late saw Gasly usurp the long-time leader for pole.

The result marks Gasly’s first pole position since the Formula Renault 3.5 race at Paul Ricard almost one year ago, and will now be looking to convert it into his first win of the season.

Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne’s hopes of claiming a record-breaking fifth pole position of the season remain on hold after he could only qualify third on Friday, finishing two-tenths of a second behind Gasly.

The Belgian will be joined on the second row of the grid by Gasly’s teammate, Alex Lynn, whilst Sergey Sirotkin and Rio Haryanto qualified fifth and sixth respectively.

American driver Alexander Rossi struggled to match the front-runners during qualifying at Monza, leaving him tenth on the grid for the start of tomorrow’s race.

In his first GP2 qualifying session, Jann Mardenborough ran well to finish P19 overall, whilst fellow debutants Patric Niederhauser and Meindert van Buuren finished 24th and 25th respectively.

IMSA at Mid-Ohio Sunday: How to watch, schedules, TV, stream info

IMSA Mid-Ohio schedule
Leave a comment

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship returns to a sprint as the circuit enters the stretch run of the 2020 season with a packed weekend schedule at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The Acura Sports Car Challenge will be a two-hour, 40-minute race around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course in Lexington, Ohio, for the DPi, GTLM and GTD classes.

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar teams will practice Friday and Saturday. Qualifying will take place at 8 a.m. Sunday before a 2 p.m. green flag (same-day delay 11 p.m. ET, NBCSN; streaming on NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold) for the headlining race of a busy weekend.

There will be eight other races at Mid-Ohio across four series: the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge, IMSA Prototype Challenge, Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama and the Battery Tender Global Mazda MX-5 Cup.

The GTLM class of IMSA’s top series will be short two entries with Porsche pulling out because of positive COVID-19 tests at the 24 Hours of Le Mans last weekend.

This will mark the seventh race of the season. After Mid-Ohio, there are three events left for the premier DPi and four for the GT division, including two of the year’s longest (the 10-hour Petit Le Mans at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta and the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring season finale).

Here are the details for IMSA this weekend at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (all times are ET):

IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race at Mid-Ohio

WHEN: Sunday, 2 p.m.

TV:  11 p.m. (same-day delay), NBCSN (streaming link); 2 p.m. NBC Sports App (streaming link) / TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold

STREAM: NBC Sports App, and TrackPass on NBC Sports Gold (live flag to flag starting at 2 p.m.)

RADIO: IMSA Radio will have live radio coverage throughout the weekend on and, as well as SiriusXM

RACE DISTANCE: Two hours and 40 minutes around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course in Lexington, Ohio.

FORECAST: According to, it’s expected to be 81 degrees with a 1% chance of rain at the green flag.

ENTRY LIST: Click here for which WeatherTech SportsCar Championship teams are racing at Mid-Ohio

IMSA Mid-Ohio weekend schedule


6:10-7:10 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice


10:55 a.m.-12:10 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship practice


8-9:05 a.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship qualifying

2 p.m. — WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Acura Sports Car Challenge