GP2: Rossi charges from P8 to win Monza feature race


American driver Alexander Rossi charged from eighth place on the grid to claim his second win of the 2015 GP2 Series season at Monza on Saturday.

Rossi qualified in tenth place on Friday, but gained two positions due to penalties for Mitch Evans and Sergio Canamasas before making a good start to move up the order.

Another position came Rossi’s way when race leader Pierre Gasly’s wheel was not attached properly at his pit stop, and when Alex Lynn and Sergey Sirotkin came to blows at the first chicane fighting for first place, the American gained two more places.

With fresher tires, Rossi began to catch new leader Stoffel Vandoorne at the front before diving down the inside at the first chicane to gain first place.

Despite coming under pressure from championship leader Vandoorne in the closing stages, Rossi was able to soak it up before crossing the line to clinch his second GP2 victory in just 13 days following his win at Spa.

“Oh boys, yes yes yes yes!” Rossi cried over the radio to his Racing Engineering team after taking the checkered flag. “Thank you! Thank you so much!”

To make the result all the more crucial to Rossi, it came on a race weekend that Gene Haas was attending as speculation about his team’s driver line-up for its 2016 debut continues to circulate.

Rossi admitted after Spa that the timing of his victory was “perfect”, and this result will undoubtedly have caught the attention of Haas as he narrows down his driver shortlist for next season.

Completing the podium in third place was Russian Time’s Mitch Evans, who fought from 23rd place on the grid after being excluded from qualifying to finish fourth on track. Norman Nato dropped from P3 at the line to sixth overall thanks to a time penalty.

As Saturday’s race winner, Rossi will start tomorrow’s GP2 sprint race from eight place on the reverse grid.

IndyCar at IMS Friday: How to watch, start times, live streaming info

IndyCar Indianapolis start times
Jamie Squire/Getty Images
Leave a comment

With three races remaining in the NTT IndyCar Series season, Scott Dixon has a commanding lead and history on his side entering Friday’s opener of the Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The five-time series champion leads defending champ Josef Newgarden by 72 points.

Since 2014, the points leader with three races left has won the championship in five of the past six years, including Dixon in ’18.

The Chip Ganassi Racing driver has led the championship standings following every round after opening 2020 with three consecutive victories. Dixon also led the points by 78 points with three races remaining when he won the title in 2008.

Dixon, Newgarden, Pato O’Ward, Colton Herta, Will Power, Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato are championship eligible.

Anyone outside 108 points of the lead after Indy will be eliminated heading into the Oct. 25 season finale at St. Petersburg, Florida.

Here is the IndyCar Harvest GP at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course schedule for Friday (all times are ET), including details and start times:

Indianapolis Motor Speedway TV schedule for Friday

IndyCar Harvest GP Race 1: 3:30 p.m., USA Network, NBC Sports Gold and streaming on the NBC Sports App and; Leigh Diffey is the lead announcer for IndyCar on NBCSN this weekend with analysts Townsend Bell and Paul Tracy.

IndyCar Harvest GP, Race 1 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway start times, information


GREEN FLAG: 4 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 85 laps (207.35 miles) around Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s a 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course in Indianapolis.

TIRE ALLOTMENT: Nine sets primary, five sets alternate (A 10th set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie.) Teams must use one set of primary and one set of alternate tires in the race.

PUSH TO PASS: 200 seconds of total time with a maximum time of 20 seconds per activation.

FORECAST: According to, it’s expected to be 57 degrees with a 0% chance of rain at the green flag.

QUALIFYING: 6:20 p.m. Thursday (NBC Sports Gold)

ENTRY LIST: Click here for the 25 drivers racing this weekend at Indianapolis