Spencer Pigot. Photo: Photos @ Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

Pigot scores pivotal Indy Lights win, takes points lead

1 Comment

MONTEREY, Calif. – Spencer Pigot did exactly what he needed to do in his quest for a second consecutive championship on the Mazda Road to Indy ladder, with a win in the first of two Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires races at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca this weekend.

The driver of the No. 12 Juncos Racing Dallara IL-15 Mazda took the lead on Lap 3, after polesitter Max Chilton clipped the tire barrier at corner apex at the Corkscrew.

Pigot then proceeded to lead the remainder of the 30-lap race, with local driver Kyle Kaiser posting a season-best second place to complete a Juncos 1-2.

Pigot was methodical on the day after taking the lead, and introspective heading into tomorrow’s finale.

“Luckily I knew what it felt like to hit those tires because I’ve hit them a few times! Max just turned in early. It’s easy to do there. You’re always trying to get as much apex of curb,” Pigot said. “I got around the outside in Turn 9. Had to keep my head down. Kyle was very quick and put a lot of pressure on me.

“It’s nice to not see any rear wings in front of you. There’s another one tomorrow. These races can go any way. Huge thanks to Juncos Racing. We have cars that can win the race. 1-2 for the team. Mazda, Cooper Tires. It’s a big day but hopefully tomorrow is even bigger.”

Other two title contenders Ed Jones finished third with Jack Harvey fifth, while Sean Rayhall split them in fourth and set the fastest race lap (1:16.715).

Pigot has 326 points (win plus one bonus point for leading the most laps), with prior points leader Harvey now second on 318 and Jones third on 305. RC Enerson, who was mathematically eligible, finished sixth and has been eliminated from title contention.

IndyCar entry lists for Harvest GP at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

IndyCar entry lists Indianapolis
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Leave a comment

There are 25 drivers on the NTT IndyCar Series entry lists at Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course with a few new yet familiar faces for the Oct. 2-3 race weekend.

Four-time champion Sebastien Bourdais will make his season debut in the No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet (shifting Dalton Kellett to the No. 41) with AJ Foyt Racing, which he is joining full time next season. James Hinchcliffe, who had run three races with Andretti Autosport, will return in place of Zach Veach in the No. 26 Dallara-Honda. Helio Castroneves will drive Arrow McLaren SP’s No. 7 Dallara-Chevy for Oliver Askew, who is out with concussion-like symptoms.

Sage Karam, who has two IndyCar starts this year at IMS (the road course on July 4 and the Indy 500 on Aug. 23), also will return to the series in Dreyer & Reinbold’s No. 24 Dallara-Chevrolet.


Friday and Saturday of the Harvest GP presented by GMR will mark the second and third races this season on Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. While the July 4 race on the circuit was 80 laps, Friday’s distance is 85 laps, and Saturday will be a 75-lap event.

Championship leader Scott Dixon led 26 of 80 laps to win the July 4 race at the IMS road course. With three races remaining in the series, the five-time series champion enters with a 72-point lead on Josef Newgarden.

Click here to see who’s on the IndyCar entry lists in Race 1 and in Race 2 for the Harvest GP presented by GMR at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.



IndyCar NTT Series practice: 2:25-3:40 p.m., NBC Sports Gold

IndyCar qualifying, Race 1: 6:20 p.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 1: 3:30 p.m. (green flag, 5 p.m.), USA Network, NBC Sports Gold


—IndyCar qualifying: 10:20 a.m. (two groups/12 minutes apiece), NBC Sports Gold

—IndyCar Harvest Grand Prix, Race 2: 2:30 p.m (green flag, 2:31 p.m.)., NBC, NBC Sports Gold