© GP2 Series

Ex-GP2 racer Cecotto Jr. retires from racing aged 26


Former GP2 driver Johnny Cecotto Jr. has announced his retirement from motorsport at the age of 26.

Cecotto made his debut in GP2 back in 2009 after working his way through the junior racing series in Europe, making 113 starts to rank as the most experienced driver in the history of the championship.

The Venezuelan claimed four wins during his time in the series (two in 2012, two in 2014) and five further podium finishes, but has missed four rounds so far in 2015.

In a message sent out from his Twitter account in Spanish, Cecotto confirmed that he had lost the backing of Venezuelan president Nicolas Maduro, bringing his racing career to an end.

“Thanks to all Venezuelans who supported me,” he tweeted. “Today my career ends without having received backing [from] President @nicolasmaduro.”

Cecotto is one of a number of Venezuelan drivers who have enjoyed significant backing from the state over the past decade. Others including former IndyCar driver EJ Viso and current Formula 1 driver Pastor Maldonado, both of whom are supported by state oil company PDVSA.

Rolex 24 update: Scott Dixon leads eight hours in

Leave a comment

We’re just past the eight hour mark in the 2020 edition of the Rolex 24, and darkness has descended over the Daytona International Speedway.

Scott Dixon is the current overall leader, while Harry Tincknell runs in the second position.

As of 10:15 pm ET, the leaders are:


  1. No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing, Cadillac DPi, Scott Dixon
  2. No. 55 Mazda Team Joest, Mazda DPi, Harry Tincknell
  3. No. 31 Whelen Engineering Racing, Cadillac DPi, Felipe Nasr


  1. No. 81 Dragonspeed USA, ORECA LMP2 07, Ben Hanley
  2. No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports, ORECA LMP2 07, Simon Trummer
  3. No. 8 Tower MotorSport by Starworks, ORECA LMP2 07, David Heinemeier Hansson


  1. No. 912 Porsche GT Team, Porsche 911 RSR-19, Earl Bamber
  2. No. 24 BMW Rahal Letterman Lanigan, BMW M8 GTE, Augusto Farfus
  3. No. 911 Porsche GT Team, Porsche 911 RSR-19, Fred Makowiecki


  1. No. 48 Paul Miller Racing, Lamborghini Huracan GT3, Madison Snow
  2. No. 9 Pfaff Motorsports, Porsche 911 GT3 R, Zacharie Robichon
  3. No. 12 AIM Vasser Sullivan, Lexus RC F GT3, Frankie Montecalvo

Live coverage of the Rolex 24 at Daytona will return to NBCSN at 11 p.m. ET. Fans can also watch all remaining coverage on NBC Sports Gold’s Trackpass.