Line-up for Road America IndyCar test confirmed

© Getty Images
1 Comment

INDYCAR has confirmed the line-up for next week’s five-team test at Road America ahead of the circuit’s return to the Verizon IndyCar Series calendar in 2016.

Last month, it was confirmed that Road America would be rejoining the IndyCar calendar in 2016, having last played host to Indy races back in 2007 at the end of the ChampCar era. The Road America Grand Prix is scheduled for June 26 next year.

Ahead of this, a post-season test will take place next Wednesday (September 22), running from 8:30am until 4pm local time.

In a statement issued by INDYCAR on Friday, the line-up for the test was confirmed as follows:

AJ Foyt Racing: Takuma Sato (No. 14)
CFH Racing: Josef Newgarden (No. 67)
Chip Ganassi Racing Teams: Dixon (No. 9), Tony Kanaan (No. 10), Sage Karam (No. 8), Charlie Kimball (No. 83)
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing: Graham Rahal (No. 15)
Team Penske: Helio Castroneves (No. 3), Juan Pablo Montoya (No. 2), Will Power (No. 12), Simon Pagenaud (No. 22)

“I’m excited to go back,” Dixon said. “It’s one of the old-school American tracks that reminds me a little bit of Watkins Glen with the style of racing. We’ll work through a lot of things so when we come back next year we’ll be prepared to challenge for the win.”

Admission to the test costs $20, with 50% of the entry fee going to the Wilson Children’s Fund in support of Justin Wilson’s family.