Here are your Japanese Grand Prix air times on NBCSN, Live Extra

Getty Images
0 Comments

After last week’s Singapore Grand Prix, the Formula 1 circus has a back-to-back this weekend with the Japanese Grand Prix.

Here’s the TV and NBC Sports Live Extra times:

NBCSN’s F1 coverage heads to Japan this weekend for the Japanese Grand Prix on Sunday morning at 12:30 a.m. ET. Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel looks to ride the momentum of his Singapore Grand Prix win last weekend, which was his fourth career victory on the streets of Singapore. Vettel (203 points) now sits just 49 points behind leader Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), who was unable to finish the Singapore GP due to a loss of power late in the race.

Pre-race coverage will discuss if Vettel can continue a late charge against Mercedes for the World Championship. It will also include how Manor, the late Jules Bianchi’s former team, will handle its return to the track for the first time since Bianchi’s tragic crash last year.

Coverage begins Thursday night on NBC Sports Live Extra at 9 p.m. ET with Practice 1, followed by Practice 2 on Friday morning at 1 a.m. ET (Thursday, 10 p.m. PT) on NBCSN. Live Extra airs exclusive coverage of Practice 3 on Friday night at 11 p.m. ET, and NBCSN will present qualifying on Saturday morning at 2 a.m. ET (Friday, 11 p.m. PT). NBCSN’s live coverage of the Japanese Grand Prix begins Sunday at 12:30 a.m. ET (Saturday; 9:30 p.m. PT), followed by F1 Extra post-race coverage at 3 a.m. ET (Midnight PT).

Lead F1 commentator Leigh Diffey will call this weekend’s action, and will be joined by veteran analyst and former racecar driver David Hobbs, and analyst and former race mechanic for the Benetton F1 team Steve Matchett. F1 insider Will Buxton will serve as the team’s on-site reporter from Japan.

F1 SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX ON NBCSN IS MOST-WATCHED SINGAPORE GP ON RECORD

Last Sunday’s presentation of the Singapore Grand Prix (7:3010:15 a.m. ET) on NBCSN averaged 510,000 viewers to become the most-watched Singapore Grand Prix on record. Viewership was up 26% vs. 2014 (406,000), and the race produced a 0.33 HH rating.

The Singapore GP marked the fifth race in 2015 on NBCSN to eclipse 500,000 viewers. Only one race during the 2013 and 2014 seasons surpassed 500,000 viewers (2014 Bahrain GP; 594,000). Through nine races, the 2015 Formula One season on NBCSN has averaged 450,000 viewers, up 15% vs. 2014 (390,000).

F1 and other open-wheel times this weekend:

Date Program Time (ET) Network
Thur., September 24 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 1 9 p.m. NBC Sports Live Extra
/DRIVE on NBC Sports – Japan 10 p.m. NBCSN
Indy Lights – Laguna Seca 10:30 p.m. NBCSN
Fri., September 25 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 2 1 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Practice 3 11 p.m. NBC Sports Live Extra
Sat., September 26 F1 Japanese Grand Prix – Qualifying 2 a.m. NBCSN
Sun., September 27 F1 Japanese Grand Prix 12:30 a.m. NBCSN
F1 Extra 3 a.m. NBCSN