© Getty Images

Mercedes wins F1 constructors’ championship after Raikkonen penalty


Mercedes has won the 2015 Formula 1 constructors’ championship after Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen was penalized for crashing into Valtteri Bottas in today’s Russian Grand Prix.

Mercedes arrived in Russia needing to outscore Ferrari by three points to secure its second F1 teams’ title, but initially fell short after Nico Rosberg retired from the race in Sochi. Teammate Lewis Hamilton won the race ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel.

With Raikkonen finishing fifth in the provisional classification, the Finn appeared to have forced Mercedes to put its constructors’ title celebrations on hold until the next race in Austin, Texas.

However, the stewards deemed Raikkonen to have been at fault in the Bottas clash and handed him a 30-second time penalty, dropping him to eighth in the final results.

As a result, Mercedes outscores Ferrari by the three points required (25 to 22), handing the German marque its second constructors’ title in as many seasons.

Steve Torrence takes NHRA points lead with Gatornationals victory

NHRA Gainesville Steve Torrence
Jeff Robinson/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images
Leave a comment

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — Two-time defending NHRA Top Fuel champion Steve Torrence took the points lead Sunday in the AMALIE Motor Oil Gatornationals, beating his father, Billy, in the final round at Gainesville Raceway.

Torrence had a 3.809-second run at 322.11 mph to win for the third time this year and 39th overall. He is now on track for another championship despite missing the season opener.

“We’ve got some good momentum and to be in the points lead, it’s a testament to how hard these guys work,” Steve Torrence said after the NHRA Gainesville victory. “We’ve just got to stay focused and concentrate on what the task at hand is, and that’s trying to win a championship. These guys give me an unbelievable race car and you just try not to screw it up.”

Ron Capps won in Funny Car, Alex Laughlin in Pro Stock and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Capps raced to his second win this year and 66th overall, beating Tim Wilkerson with a 3.937 at 323.12 in a Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat.

Laughlin topped Aaron Stanfield with a 7.068 at 204.76 in a Chevrolet Camaro for his first win this season and fourth in his career. Smith rode to his first victory in 2020 and 25th overall, topping Andrew Hines with a 6.843 at 196.99 on an EBR.