Porsche, Dempsey lead winners in wet, wild FIA WEC 6 Hours of Fuji

Getty Images

Porsche Team has claimed its fourth straight win in the FIA World Endurance Championship, and third straight for the trio of Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber and Brendon Hartley in the No. 17 Porsche 919 Hybrid in Sunday’s rain-affected 6 Hours of Fuji.

The No. 17 car took the lead from the erstwhile dominant No. 18 car, driven by Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb, in the final half hour following a team decision.

It had been an entertaining bout throughout the LMP1 field for the majority of the race, with the Audi R18 e-tron quattros showing well early in wetter conditions before the track came back over the second half of the race and the Porsches regained the momentum.

Other class winners though took the spotlight after some fascinating drives.

In GTE-Am, Patrick Dempsey finally got on the board with his first career international sports car victory, following a dynamic drive from he, Marco Seefried and Patrick Long in the No. 77 Dempsey Proton Racing Porsche 911.

Dempsey started and turned the car over to Seefried, with the German moving ahead following a stellar middle stint in changing conditions. Long, then Dempsey again, brought it home to the finish to end SMP Racing’s run of wins in the class.

LMP2 saw G-Drive Racing’s trio of Sam Bird, Roman Rusinov and Julien Canal win in the No. 26 Ligier JS P2 Nissan, although subject to a bit of controversy following several instances of contact between the No. 26 car and the sister No. 28 car, with KCMG’s Oreca 05 Nissan driven by Matt Howson, Richard Bradley and Nick Tandy.

Contact occurred between Gustavo Yacaman’s No. 28 car and Bradley’s No. 47 Oreca in the final 10 minutes, with the stewards analyzing the data to determine any potential post-race penalties.

GTE-Pro saw a less eventful race and wins from Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander, sharing the No. 51 AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia.

The WEC resumes in Shanghai in three weeks time.

Peacock to stream all Supercross and Motocross races in 2023, plus inaugural SuperMotocross Championship

Peacock Supercross Motocross 2023
Feld Entertainment, Inc.

NBC Sports and Feld Motor Sports announced that Peacock and the NBC family of networks will stream all 31 races of the combined Monster Energy Supercross, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross and the newly created SuperMotocross World Championship beginning January 7, 2023 at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California and ending October 14 in the place where Supercross was born: the Los Angeles Coliseum.

The combined series will create a 10-month calendar of events, making it one of the longest professional sports’ seasons in the United States.

The agreement is for multiple years. The season finale will air live on Peacock and the USA Network.

Peacock will present live coverage of all races, qualifying and heats across both series. The 31 total races will mark a record for the combined number of Supercross and Pro Motocross events that NBC Sports will present in a single season.

NBC, USA Network and CNBC will provide coverage of all races, including the SuperMotocross World Championship Playoffs and Final, through 2023 and beyond. For more information about the Peacock streaming service, click here.

“With our wide array of live and original motorsports offerings, Peacock is a natural home for Supercross and Pro Motocross races,” said Rick Cordella, Chief Commercial Officer, Peacock. “We’re looking forward to providing fans with an easily-accessible destination to find every race all season long, including the exciting finish with the newly formed SuperMotocross World Championship.”

MORE: A conversation about media rights created the new SuperMotocross World Championship Series

The NBC family of networks has been home to Supercross for the past several seasons and this is a continuation of that relationship. The media rights for both series expired at the end of 2022, which allowed Supercross and Motocross to combine their efforts.

In fact, it was that conversation that led to the formation of the SuperMotocross World Championship (SMX).

The SMX series will begin on September 9, 2023 after the conclusion of the Pro Motocross season. Points will accumulate from both series to seed the SMX championship, which creates a record number of unified races.

“The SuperMotocross World Championship adds a new dimension to the annual Supercross and Pro Motocross seasons that will result in crowning the ultimate World Champion,” said Stephen C. Yaros, SVP Global Media and Supercross for Feld Motor Sports. “We are thrilled to be extending our relationship with NBC Sports so our fans can watch all the racing action streaming live on Peacock and the option to also watch select rounds on NBC, USA Network and CNBC.”

Complete 2023 coverage schedules for Supercross, Pro Motocross and the SuperMotocross World Championship on Peacock, NBC, USA Network and CNBC will be announced in the near future.