Berthon completes Team Aguri line-up in Formula E

© GP3 Series

Nathanael Berthon will make his Formula E debut next weekend in Beijing after being announced as Team Aguri’s second driver on Thursday.

Berthon is a GP2 race winner and has taken part in the 24 Hours of Le Mans twice, but looked set to turn his attention to Formula E after a successful test with Team Aguri at Donington Park in August.

The Frenchman has now been confirmed as Aguri’s second driver for season two, joining ePrix winner Antonio Felix da Costa for the new campaign.

“I am really looking forward to racing with Team Aguri in the second season of Formula E,” Berthon said. “I am really thankful to Aguri [Suzuki], Mark [Preston] and the whole team to have given me the chance to show what I could bring to the team at Donington Park during testing last month.

“For me, it is a good new challenge and I think we can look forward to a very good season with the proven package that Aguri has worked on improving during the off-season. The attitude and mentality of Team Aguri very much matches mine and this was clear from the very start.

“Formula E is all about being a complete driver and tests you technically. This really appeals to me because with my experience in many disciplines I have a lot to call upon when it comes to strategies and efficiency.”

Following Aguri’s confirmation of Berthon, the grid for the second Formula E season is now complete.

2015-2016 Formula E season entry list

1. Nelson Piquet
88. Oliver Turvey

DS Virgin Racing
2. Sam Bird
25. Jean-Eric Vergne

4. Stephane Sarrazin
12. Jacques Villeneuve

Dragon Racing
6. Loic Duval
7. Jerome d’Ambrosio

Renault e.dams
8. Nicolas Prost
9. Sebastien Buemi

10. Vitantonio Liuzzi
18. Salvador Duran

ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
11. Lucas di Grassi
66. Daniel Abt

Mahindra Racing
21. Bruno Senna
23. Nick Heidfeld

Amlin Andretti
27. Robin Frijns
28. Simona de Silvestro

Team Aguri
55. Antonio Felix da Costa
77. Nathanael Berthon

Santino Ferrucci will drive No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing full time in 2023 IndyCar season

Santino Ferrucci AJ Foyt
James Gilbert/Getty Images

Santino Ferrucci will return to full-time racing in the NTT IndyCar Series next season, joining AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had made eight IndyCar starts with three teams since his last full-time season in 2020 while also racing part time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series this year.

He will drive the storied No. 14 Dallara-Chevrolet for four-time Indy 500 winner A.J. Foyt’s team, which will field the car from its Waller, Texas headquarters.

“It’s incredibly exciting to be back in the INDYCAR Series full time,” Ferrucci said in a team release. “Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a race car driver, and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency. I couldn’t be more excited to join AJ Foyt Racing in the 14 Chevy. I can’t wait to make the best of it.”

Ferrucci, 24, had finished a career-best fourth in IndyCar four times, including the 104th Indy 500 in 2020. He was the 2019 Indy 500 rookie of the year with a sixth.

In nine Xfinity starts since 2021, Ferrucci has a career-best finish of 13th at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“I am thrilled to welcome Santino to the team,” Larry Foyt said in a release. “He’s shown a knack for getting toward the front of the field, and I think he is a racer who moves forward on race day. A.J. sees the fire in him and has enjoyed their meetings together. I think Santino’s experience will help his rookie teammate as well, so he is a great addition to our roster.”

Ferrucci will be teamed at AJ Foyt Racing with Benjamin Pedersen, who finished fifth in the 2022 Indy Lights standings. The team has yet to specify the number for Pedersen’s entry, which will be fielded out of its Indianapolis race shop.

Foyt’s two full-time drivers last season were Dalton Kellett and Kyle Kirkwood, who is moving to Andretti Autosport.